US SoccerUS Soccer

2010 Lamar Hunt US Open Cup Semifinalists Set

CHICAGO (July 22, 2010) – The 2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup semifinalists are set as the last quarterfinal match was played Wednesday, July 21, with D.C. United defeating the Harrisburg City Islanders of the USL Second Division 2-0 at the Maryland SoccerPlex in Boyds, Md.

The semifinals will take place Sept. 1 and feature the Columbus Crew traveling to RFK Stadium to take on D.C. United at 7:30 p.m. ET while Seattle Sounders host Chivas USA at the Starfire Sports Complex in Tukwila, Wash., at 7:30 p.m. PT.

D.C. United opened the scoring in the first minute with a goal from Branko Boskovic, assisted by Santino Quaranta. Boyzzz Khumalo rounded out the scoring in the 47th minute with an assist from goalkeeper Bill Hamid.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which is recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 95 consecutive years dating back to 1914. It is the oldest annual team tournament in U.S. sports history and among the oldest soccer tournaments of its type in the world. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor long-time soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.


No. Date Match Venue
33 *July 21 Harrisburg City Islanders (USL-2) 0, D.C. United (MLS) 2 *Maryland SoccerPlex; Boyds, Md.
34 July 6 Charleston Battery (USL-2) 0, Columbus Crew (MLS) 3 Columbus Crew Stadium; Columbus, Ohio
35 July 6 Chivas USA (MLS) 3, Houston Dynamo (MLS) 1 Robertson Stadium; Houston, Texas
36 July 7 Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS) 0, Seattle Sounders FC (MLS) 2 Starfire Sports Complex; Tukwila, Wash.
* NOTE: Change of date, time or venue since original announcement on June 23.

No. Date Match Time Venue
37 Sept. 1 Columbus Crew (MLS) at D.C. United (MLS) 7:30 p.m. ET *Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium; Washington, D.C.
38 Sept. 1 Chivas USA (MLS) at Seattle Sounders FC (MLS) *7:30 p.m. PT Starfire Sports Complex; Tukwila, Wash.
*NOTE: Change of time or venue since original announcement on July 1.