US SoccerUS Soccer

U-14 Boys' National Team to Convene at Thanksgiving Interregional

CHICAGO (Nov. 18, 2010) -- The U.S. U-14 Boys' National Team will convene in Orlando, Fla., for the Thanksgiving Interregional event at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex. Manny Schellscheidt will lead 36 players, who will be broken up into two squads, against regional U.S. Youth Soccer Olympic Development Program teams throughout the week.

The camp will be the first for the players born in 1997 since the annual Identification camp was held in August. Of the 36 players traveling to Orlando, 19 play for clubs who are part of the U.S. Soccer Development Academy, but the Academy teams are generally made up of players born in 1994 and 1995.

The players for the I.D. camp are selected by U.S. Soccer’s Technical Advisors and the national scouting network, a select group of scouts from throughout the United States. The Under-14 program introduces young players to a level of soccer they would not otherwise see at such a young age and allows the country’s top youths the chance to experience soccer at its highest level and in an international setting. Players who have come through the U-14 program include Michael Bradley (2001), Benny Feilhaber (1999) and Ricardo Clark (1997).

Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (4): Christian Herrera (Strickers FC; Las Cruces, N.M.), Cameron Keys (Lehigh Valley United FC; Whitehall, Pa.), JT Marcinkowski (Mustangs FC; Alamo, Calif.), Nicolas Pritchard (NY Red Bulls; New Egypt, N.J.)
DEFENDERS (9): Billy Abdallah (Cosmos Academy West; Monterey Park, Calif.), Guillermo Bermudez (Albion SC; San Diego, Calif.), Josh Cox (Prince William Courage; Woodbridge, Va.), Malcolm Jones (Cosmos Academy West; Chino Hills, Calif.), Benny Lorca (Real So Cal; Oxnard, Calif.), Evan Martinez (Athletico Santa Rosa; Santa Rosa, Calif.), Jean Orvil Jr (West Pines United; Miramar, Fla.), Thomas Redding (FC America Premier; Oviedo, Fla.), Max Stiegwardt (Minnesota Thunder; Maple Grove, Minn.)
MIDFIELDERS (19): Mukwelle Akale (Minnesota Thunder; Minneapolis, Minn.), Amir Bashti (De Anza Force; Cupertino, Calif.), Chester Castellaw (Real So Cal; Hidden Hills, Calif.), Brendan Constantine (Oakwood SC; Glastonbury, Conn.), Coy Craft (Fusion FC; Glade Spring Va.), Josh Doughty (CCV Stars; Phoenix, Ariz.), Zach Emerson (Oregon Rush; Bend, Ore.), Chris Gomez (PDA; Jamison, Pa.), Dominic Jensen (CASL Chelsea FC; Raleigh, N.C.), Amadu Kunateh (North Shore United; Salem, Mass.), Cameron Lindley (Indiana United Academy; Carmel, Ind.), Caleb Moore (Discoveries SC; Rock Hill, S.C.), Pablo Pelaez (Albion SC; San Diego, Calif.), Nathanael Rennhack (Solar SC; Westlake, Texas), Shannon Seymour (Chicago Fire; Bourbonnais, Ill.), Benjamin Swanson (Crew Soccer Academy; Grove City, Ohio), David Villegas (Elk Grove Everton; Sacramento, Calif.), Sean Wilson (PDA; Bethlehem, Pa.), Gedion Zelalem (Potomac Fire; Bethesda, Md.)
FORWARDS (4): Malcolm Dixon (NY Red Bulls; Glenridge, N.J.), Stephen Elias (Beachside SC; Rye, N.Y.), Christian Lucatero (Houstonian FC; Pasadena, Texas), Amirgy Pineda (Fullerton Rangers; Santa Ana, Calif.)