US SoccerUS Soccer
130616 Perez Article.jpg

U.S. U-15 BNT Head Coach Hugo Perez Calls 20 Players for International Training Camp in Abu Dhabi

CHICAGO (Jan. 29, 2014) – U.S. Under-15 Boys’ National Team head coach Hugo Perez named a 20-player roster for a week-long international training camp in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, from Jan. 31-Feb. 9.

During the camp, the team will play friendlies against Al Jazira FC on Feb. 3, Oman on Feb. 4 and the United Arab Emirates on Feb. 6 and 8.

Eighteen players on the roster have ties to the U.S. Soccer Development Academy, with 16 players currently registered with Academy clubs. Only Jonathan Gonzalez (Atletico Santa Rosa) and Ben Lederman (Barcelona) have never played for an Academy team. The call-up for Lederman is his first with the USA since attending a U-14 camp in November of 2012. Gonzalez has previously been a regular participant with the U.S. at the U-14 and U-15 age levels.

The LA Galaxy Academy leads all Academy teams with three players (Ateno Ajeakwa, Eric Lopez and Hanif Wright) on the roster. Other MLS teams represented include the Colorado Rapids (Sam Vines), D.C. United (Jose Carranza), FC Dallas (Carlos Avilez) and the New York Red Bulls (Tyler Adams and Jeanpaul Marin).

Avilez recently joined the U.S. U-17 MNT as a second goalkeeper for the team’s successful run to the Aegean Cup title in Manisa, Turkey. He played 80 minutes in a 1-1 draw with Scotland. Defender Edwin Lara and midfielder Nicholas Taitague also were called up for the Aegean Cup. Lara played the full 80 minutes in three matches, including the final, while Taitague scored his first international goal at the U-17 age level in the Americans’ 5-2 win against Norway.

Roster by Position:
: Carlos Avilez (FC Dallas; Dallas, Texas), Erik Lopez (LA Galaxy; Westminster, Calif.)
Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls; Wappingers Falls, N.Y.), Ateno Ajeakwa (LA Galaxy; Gardena, Calif.), McKay Eves (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.), Kyle Gruno (Leicester FC; Saddle River, N.J.), Edwin Lara (Unattached; San Leandro, Calif.), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids; Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Jose Carranza (D.C. United; Manassas, Va.), Jonathan Gonzalez (Atletico Santa Rosa; Santa Rosa, Calif.), Christopher Goslin (UFA Elite; Locust Grove, Ga.), Ben Lederman (Barcelona; Barcelona, Spain), Nicholas Taitague (FC Richmond Magic; Midlothian, Va.), Juan Pablo Torres (Georgia United; Lilburn, Ga.)
Lucas Del Rosario (CASL; Durham, N.C.), Jeanpaul Marin (New York Red Bulls; Rego Park, N.Y.), Leonardo Marquez (Odyssey South; Visalia, Calif.), Marty Raygoza (FC Golden State; South El Monte, Calif.), Adolfo Trujillo (De Anza Force; Livermore, Calif.), Hanif Wright (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.)