March 2006 Archive (II of II)
March 21, 2006
AGE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN REFEREE/AR AND PLAYERS?
It is my understanding the the center referee must be two years older than the team playing? Correct?
Does this also hold true to the asst. referee (lines)? Or as long as they are Grade 8 it doesn't matter?
Answer (March 20, 2006):
While it is normal for young referees to be assigned to work games with players who are at least one or two years younger than they are, there is no hard and fast rule for all states; each is different. Ask your state referee administrator for the rules in your state on this matter.
IS AGE DIFFERENCE AMONG PLAYERS A "SAFETY" THING?
A local rec league made a change in the league schedule without informing the USSF Assignor and therefore, incorrect information was provided to the referees. When the referees arrived at the field expecting a U12B match, they discovered a U12B team scheduled to play a U10B team. The U10B team included some players as young as eight years old "playing up" in age. Some anxious parents approached the referees with their concern for their 8-9 year olds playing against the much bigger kids. The referees, including two adults, honestly believed that allowing for the disparity in size, skill, and experience that it would be unsafe to permit this match to occur. They refused to officiate.
Normally refusing to officiate a match due to safety concerns seems to refer to field conditions that cannot be corrected or severe weather. It doesn't seem that a referee can look at two teams and decide that by itself, it would be unsafe to play. But normally one doesn't schedule 8 year olds against 12 year olds either. Question: I'm not asking if the referees were right to refuse to play the match but simply were they within their rights.
Answer (March 20, 2006):
Although the referee's primary concern is the safety of the players, that has no bearing on the present question.
The match-up is the concern of the league, not the referees. However this match of mismatched teams came to be, the referee's main concern has to be what actually happens in a match, not what might happen. If referees starts making such decisions on what might be, he or she would find him- or herself at the top of the proverbial slippery slope. Where would it end?
Unless the team officials suggest that the match-up itself is contrary to the league's rules, the officials have no choice but to officiate and, if individual players commit dangerous acts vis-a-vis individual opponents, they have the Law itself available to handle it.
CAUTION IN THE PENALTY AREA
Can you give a defender a caution with the penelty box without giving a penelty kick?
Answer (March 20, 2006):
If the referee stops play for a case of misconduct, such as dissent or unsporting behavior, that does not involve a foul, the game is restarted with an indirect free kick. The referee could also send a player off for violent conduct (brutal threats, etc.) and restart with an indirect free kick if that serious misconduct was why the game had been stopped.
LOCATION OF RESTART
Assume a referee properly calls a technical foul against the keeper for using his hands after a pass back to him from the foot of a teammate and awards an IFK. An attacker quickly spots the ball JUST OUTSIDE OF THE PENALTY AREA and takes a quick kick to a teammate who scores. In the opinion of the USSF, is this a valid goal? Must this IFK be spotted within the penalty area or is the placement outside the penalty area a trifling inconsequence to be ignored by the referee?
Answer (March 16, 2006):
A specific answer is difficult in this case, as you have not given us enough information. Therefore, our answer must be general in nature.
According to Law 12, a direct or indirect free kick is taken from the place where the offense occurred (keeping in mind the special circumstances for kicks involving the goal area). While the referee should not be overly fussy about having the offended team restart from the specific and particular blade of grass on which an offense occurred, neither should the referee allow the kicking team to put the ball into play from any point that suits them best. The closer to goal the offense occurred, the less latitude the referee will give the kicking team for placement.
In this case, because the offense occurred inside the penalty area, the kick must be taken from within the penalty area, not "just outside."
ALL GOALS MUST BE ANCHORED!!
Laws of the Game, Advice to Referees, USYS Memorandums (cannot find specific one), The Referee Magazine articles, and USSF Entry Level course material; all emphasize "the goalposts must be anchored." Some further state/suggest "the game will not be played on that field for safety." I've always been taught, instructed others, and believed those guidelines......until recently!
I've refereed in 37 states and to my surprise not all states abide by this direction. While in one state, I asked an assignor state policy. Additionally, I asked a state referee committee member (another state) for an interpretation. The answers were startling.
One person consulted someone on the national (USYS) level and was supposedly told, "it's up to each SRA." The other person referred me to IFA Board decisions in Law 5. It was suggested by another person that I Ask A Referee. So..... 1) What is the official USYS position on goalposts being anchored? 2) What is the referee to do if they aren't? 3) What is the referee's liability if he/she referees without anchored goalposts?
Answer (March 15, 2006):
This is a matter of player safety. There is no reason to look at Law 5. In describing the field and its appurtenances, Law 1 tells us, under "Goals": "Goals must be anchored securely to the ground. Portable goals may only be used if they satisfy this requirement."
BALL DELIBERATELY KICKED TO THE GOALKEEPER;CHARGING ON A 50/50 BALL
(1) A fellow referee informed me that he observed the following at a soccer game this weekend:
- A defender takes the Goal Kicks, the goalie goes outside the area, receives the kick, then dribbles into the area, picks it up, and punts it back into play.
My friend thinks it is a passback violation. I think it is using trickery to circumvent the rules, what is your take? Answer (March 15, 2006):
1. This could be regarded as an infringement of the Laws: A player deliberately kicks the ball and it is handled directly (no intervening play) by the player's goalkeeper. Whether it should be called is an entirely different matter and would depend on such things as the competitive level of the teams, whether the goalkeeper handled the ball to unfairly remove the possibility of an opponent's challenge, etc. If there were no opponents nearby, the referee would likely simply classify it as a trifling infringement and warn the players about their actions. If the goalkeeper was clearly handling to foil an active, immediate challenge, the referee should be inclined to blow the whistle. Restart with an indirect free kick at the place where the goalkeeper touched the ball with the hands.
2. No. If the conditions were precisely as you describe them, the correct call should be (carelessly) charging an opponent. The goalkeeper's team should be given a direct free kick from the spot where the infringement took place. If there was more to the challenge than you described, the referee could consider either a caution for unsporting behavior for a reckless challenge or a dismissal for violent conduct if excessive force was used.
SIMULATION, AKA "DIVING"
I recently saw an EPL game on TV and was surprised to see the referee stop play and penalize the attacking forward for diving by awarding a free kick to the defending team. Was this the correct way to penalize the offence as no foul was committed or maybe I am incorrectly analyzing the situation.
Answer (March 14, 2006):
It is perfectly acceptable (and within the letter and intent of the Law) for the referee to stop play for misconduct. Diving, also known as "simulating action," which is intended to deceive the referee, is unsporting behavior.
U.S. Soccer thanks Jim Allen (National Instructor Staff/National Assessor), assisted by Dan Heldman (National Instructor Staff), for their assistance in providing this service.
Submit your questions via e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org.