US SoccerUS Soccer

Alex Morgan Replaces Brittany Bock on Women's National Team Training Camp Roster

Forward Alex Morgan, one of the stars of the U.S. team that won the 2008 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, has received her first-call up to the full national team to replace defender Brittany Bock, who is suffering from nagging ankle/foot injuries. The U.S. WNT training camp will be held from Dec. 5-15 at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif.

The 20-year-old Morgan, who just finished her junior season at California, won the Silver Ball as the second most valuable player and the Bronze Shoe at the third leading scorer during the 2008 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup. She scored four times, including a cracker from distance in the 2-1 title game win over North Korea that goes down as one of the greatest goals in a world championship final in U.S. history.

Morgan scored 14 goals with eight assists for the Golden Bears this season, helping her team second round of the NCAA tournament where they fell to Florida State. Morgan is the second member of the USA’s 2008 U-20 world champions to get a call-up to the full team, following midfielder Christine Nairn who has earned two caps with one goal.

The call-up of Morgan marks the second change to the training camp roster by U.S. head coach Pia Sundhage, who earlier called in midfielder Lori Lindsey to replace midfielder Tobin Heath.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Nicole Barnhart (FC Gold Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Penn State), Hope Solo (St. Louis Athletica)
DEFENDERS (6): Rachel Buehler (FC Gold Pride), Lori Chalupny (St. Louis Athletica), Amy LePeilbet (Boston Breakers), Heather Mitts (Philadelphia Independence), Meghan Schnur (Sky Blue FC), Cat Whitehill (Washington Freedom)
MIDFIELDERS (8): Yael Averbuch (Sky Blue FC), Shannon Boxx (Los Angeles Sol), Lori Lindsey (Philadelphia Independence), Carli Lloyd (Sky Blue FC), Christine Nairn (Penn State), Heather O’Reilly (Sky Blue FC), Leslie Osborne (Boston Breakers), Megan Rapinoe (Chicago Red Stars)
FORWARDS (7): Lauren Cheney (UCLA), Ella Masar (Chicago Red Stars), Alex Morgan (California), Casey Nogueira (UNC), Kelley O’Hara (Stanford), Amy Rodriguez (Philadelphia Independence), Abby Wambach (Washington Freedom)