US SoccerUS Soccer

U1718 Academy Honors Unveiled as Finals Week Wraps Up in Carson Calif

CARSON, Calif. (July 17, 2010) – U.S. Soccer has announced the Development Academy Starting XI, Player and Coach of the Year and conference honors for the U-17/18 age group on the last day of Finals Week at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. The awards were announced on the Academy Update show following Saturday night’s championship match between Vardar and Crossfire Premier.

LAFC Chelsea’s Marvin Iraheta has been named the U-17/18 Player of the Year for the 2009-10 season, following 26 stand out appearances for his club. Iraheta led LAFC to this year’s Playoffs in Greensboro as the engine of an offense that scored 57 goals in 29 regular season games.

The U-17/18 Coach of the Year is Steve Klein, who led the PA Classics to Playoffs via a fourth-place finish in the parity-filled Mid-Atlantic Division. Klein coaches both the U-15/16 and the U-17/18 teams at the Pennsylvania club that has produced several youth national team players.

MatchFit Chelsea and Baltimore Bays Chelsea are the only two clubs represented by two players on the East Conference Starting XI, with goalkeeper John McCarthy and JP Correa representing the New Jersey club and Marquez Fernandez and Mamadou Kansaye wearing the Bays uniforms.

FC Dallas’ Ruben Luna and Derby County Wolves Soony Saad, both former U-15/16 players of the year, earned Central Conference honors in 2009-10. Despite missing out on Finals Week for the first time in their history, Indiana United Academy is represented by two players on the Starting XI team and Dave Costa has earned Coach of the Year honors in the Central Conference.

Three players from IMG Soccer Academy are part of the South Conference team in Mark Bixler, Jorge Risquez and Martin Ontiveros, who is also part of the Academy Starting XI. Coach of the Year Marc Nichols and forward Mamadee Nyepon both represent Greensboro Youth Soccer on the team.

Cousins Emilio and Moises Orozco from Real So Cal both earned West Conference honors, along with Coach of the Year Julio Castillo, after helping their team to a third-place finish at Finals Week. Kelyn Rowe, a standout forward, was part of the Crossfire Premier side that finished as runners-up.

Since its launch in the fall of 2007, the Academy has improved the training environment, provided relevant, high-level matches on a consistent basis, increased the level and efficiency of scouting for the national teams and provided players, coaches and referees with structured programming.

U-17/18 Development Academy Starting XI
GOALKEEPER: Dallas Jaye (Mustang SC)
DEFENDERS: Bryan De La Fuente (Chivas USA), Andrew Jean-Baptiste (Albertson SC), Moises Hernandez (FC Dallas)
MIDFIELDERS: Mynor Giron (Real So Cal), Marvin Iraheta (LAFC Chelsea), Nikita Kotlov (Indiana United Academy), Pablo Cruz (LAFC Chelsea/LA Galaxy), Martin Ontiveros (IMG Soccer Academy)
FORWARDS: Soony Saad (Derby County Wolves), Ruben Luna (FC Dallas)

Development Academy U-17/18 Coach of the Year: Steve Klein, PA Classics
Development Academy U-17/18 Player of the Year: Marvin Iraheta, LAFC Chelsea

U-17/18 East Conference Starting XI
GOALKEEPER: John McCarthy (MatchFit Chelsea)
DEFENDERS: Andrew Jean-Baptiste (Albertson SC), Marquez Fernandez (Baltimore Bays Chelsea), Anthony Carreras (BW Gottschee NYC), Brian Gallego (New York Red Bulls)
MIDFIELDERS: Joseph Schmid (FC DELCO), Sebastian Guenzattia (Met Oval), Johnathan Aguirre (PDA), Mamadou Kansaye (Baltimore Bays Chelsea)
FORWARDS: John Paul Correa (MatchFit Chelsea), Brian Span (FC Westchester)

East Conference U-17/18 Coach of the Year: Steve Klein, PA Classics

U-17/18 South Conference Starting XI
GOALKEEPER: Mark Bixler (IMG Soccer Academy)
DEFENDERS: Blair Jeralds (North Meck SC), Paul Dillon (Virginia Rush AJ Auxerre), Ben Sweat (Clearwater Chargers), Nathan Diehl (Birmingham United)
MIDFIELDERS: Jorge Risquez (IMG Soccer Academy), Chris Duvall (Concorde Fire), Charles Root (CASL Chelsea FC), Martin Ontiveros (IMG Soccer Academy)
FORWARDS: Carlos McCrary (Concorde Fire), Mamadee Nyepon (Greensboro Youth Soccer)

South Conference U-17/18 Coach of the Year: Marc Nichols, Greensboro Youth Soccer

U-17/18 Central Conference Starting XI
GOALKEEPERS: Eric Osswald (Crew Soccer Academy)
DEFENDERS: Alex Sauciuc (Sockers FC), Sebastian Ibeagha (Houston Dynamo), Moises Hernandez (FC Dallas)
MIDFIELDERS: Nikita Kotlov (Indiana United Academy), Zach Barnes (Dallas Texans), Victor Ulloa (FC Dallas), AJ Corrado (Indiana United Academy), Harrison Shipp (Chicago Fire)
FORWARDS: Soony Saad (Derby County Wolves), Ruben Luna (FC Dallas)

Central Conference U-17/18 Coach of the Year: Dave Costa, Indiana United Academy

U-17/18 West Conference Starting XI
GOALKEEPERS: Dallas Jaye (Mustang SC)
DEFENDERS: Emilio Orozco (Real So Cal), Bryan De La Fuente (Chivas USA), Elijah Balbrath-Knapp (Nomads SC), Elijah Galbraith-Knapp (Nomads SC)
MIDFIELDERS: Maynor Giron (Real So Cal), Pablo Cruz (LAFC Chelsea/LA Galaxy), Marvin Iraheta (LAFC Chelsea), Riley Wolfe (LA Galaxy)
FORWARDS: Moises Orozco (Real So Cal), Kelyn Rowe (Crossfire Premier), Daniel Castro (Chivas USA)

West Conference U-17/18 Coach of the Year: Julio Castillo, Real So Cal