US SoccerUS Soccer
U.S. Soccer Development Academy

U-15 BNT Head Coach Hugo Perez Names 18-Player Squad for December Showcase Event in Florida

CHICAGO (Nov. 25, 2013) – U.S. Under-15 Boys’ National Team head coach Hugo Perez has named an 18-player squad that will participate in the U.S. Soccer Development Academy Winter Showcase from Dec. 11-15 at the Premier Sports Campus in Lakewood Ranch, Fla.

The U-15 BNT’s scheduled match days are Dec. 12, 13 and 15. The team will face the U-15/16 New York Red Bulls, De Anza Force and Weston FC.

The entire U.S. Soccer Development Academy field will participate in the Winter Showcase at the U-15/16 and U-17/18 age levels. The addition of the U-15 BNT will complete an even, 80-team field at the U-15/16 level.

Fifteen of the players on the Boys’ National Team roster have ties to the Development Academy with the exceptions of Ernesto Espinoza, Jonathan Gonzalez and Nicholas Taitague. Espinoza, who plays for Club Tijuana, is the only player on the roster who plays on for a club outside the United States.

Eight players represent MLS Academy sides, including the Colorado Rapids, D.C. United, FC Dallas, LA Galaxy, New York Red Bulls and Philadelphia Union.

Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (2): David Abonce (FC Dallas; The Colony, Texas), Carlos Avilez (FC Dallas; Dallas, Texas) DEFENDERS (4): McKay Eves (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.), Kyle Gruno (Leicester FC; Saddle River, N.J.), Antonio Nava (De Anza Force; Redwood City, Calif.), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids; Colorado Springs, Colo.)
MIDFIELDERS (6): Jose Alfaro (Fuerza Monarca; West Chicago, Ill.), Jose Carranza (D.C. United; Manassas, Va.), Ernesto Espinoza (Club Tijuana; San Ysidro, Calif.), Roberto Hernandez (Texas Rush; Houston, Texas), Nicholas Taitague (FC Richmond Magic; Midlothian, Va.), Juan Pablo Torres (Georgia United; Lilburn, Ga.)
FORWARDS (6): Lucas Del Rosario (CASL; Durham, N.C.), Omir Fernandez (New York Red Bulls; New York, N.Y.), Jonathan Gonzalez (Atletico Santa Rosa; Santa Rosa, Calif.), Jeanpaul Marin (New York Red Bulls; Rego Park, N.Y.), Jesus Nunez (LA Galaxy; Anaheim, Calif.), Adolfo Trujillo (De Anza Force; Livermore, Calif.)