US SoccerUS Soccer
U.S. Women

Canada Awarded 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup

FIFA Announces Hosts for Eight Tournaments Following Executive Committee Meeting in Zurich

CHICAGO (March 3, 2011) – FIFA has awarded the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup to Canada and allotted hosts for seven youth tournaments in 2013, 2014 and 2015, following a two-day meeting of the FIFA Executive Committee.

Currently ninth in the FIFA World Rankings, Canada has qualified for every FIFA Women’s World Cup except the first one in 1991. In 2003, Canada finished a best-ever fourth place. They also played host to the first ever youth Women’s World Cup in 2002 wiht the U.S. winning the inaugural FIFA U-19 Women’s World Championship in front of more than 47,000 fans in Edmonton. In 2007, Canada set an attendance record that still holds for the FIFA U-20 World Cup.

Canada will also hold the 2014 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in preparation for the following year’s event, similar to Germany hosting the U-20 WWC a year before the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The 2012 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup will be held in Uzbekistan.

The location of the 2014 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup will be Costa Rica, meaning that both youth Women’s World Cups will be held within CONCACAF that year.

The FIFA U-20 World Cup was awarded to Turkey in 2013 and New Zealand two years later. New Zealand hosted the FIFA U-17 WWC in 2008 and the U-17 men in 1999, but Turkey will be playing host to its first FIFA event.

The FIFA U-17 World Cups, also held in 2013 and 2015, will be held in the United Arab Emirates and Chile, respectively. UAE played host to the 2003 FIFA U-20 World Cup and Chile welcomed the FIFA U-20 WWC in 2008 and the U-20 men in 1987.

The hosts for each FIFA event will receive an automatic berth.

FIFA Women’s World Cup
2011 – Germany*
2015 – Canada

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup
2012 – Uzbekistan
2014 – Canada

FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup
2012 – Azerbaijan*
2014 – Costa Rica

FIFA U-20 World Cup
2011 – Colombia*
2013 – Turkey
2015 – New Zealand

FIFA U-17 World Cup
2011 – Mexico*
2013 – United Arab Emirates
2015 – Chile

*previously announced