US SoccerUS Soccer
July 17, 2010: U.S. U-20 Women vs. Switzerland U-20 Women

CONCACAF Announces Draw for U-20 Women's Championships to Be Held March 1-11 in Panama

USA Will Faces Panama, Guatemala and Cuba in Group Play

CHICAGO (Jan. 16, 2012) -- The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) conducted the draw for the upcoming Under-20 Women’s Championship on Sunday, Jan. 15 in Miami Beach, Fla., and the United States will face host Panama, Guatemala and Cuba in Group B.

Group A consists of Mexico, Canada, Haiti and Jamaica.

The eight-team tournament will take place from March 1-11 and will be played exclusively in Panama City's Estadio Rommel Fernandez, host to the 2011 Copa Centroamericana and numerous CONCACAF Champions League matches. The finalists and winner of the third-place game qualify for the 2012 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup.

The World Cup was set to be played in Uzbekistan from August 18 through September 9, but FIFA announced last month that the Asian nation would no longer host the tournament due to logistical and technical reasons. Japan has been proposed as the new host.

In Panama, Group A matches will be held March 1, 3 and 5, while Group B matches are scheduled for March 2, 4 and 6. The semifinals will be played March 9, with the third-place match and final to take place two days later.

A complete schedule will be announced in the coming days.