US SoccerUS Soccer
News

Gold Cup 2000 on Univision / Galavision / Fox Sports World


CHICAGO (Saturday, February 12, 2000) -

UNIVISION, GALAVISION AND FOX SPORTS WORLD ACQUIRE BROADCAST RIGHTS TO GOLD CUP: Spanish language outlets Univision and Galavision, along with Fox Sports World/Espanol, have acquired the only U.S. broadcast rights for the upcoming Gold Cup 2000, a 12-team tournament for the championship of CONCACAF being competed from February 12 through February 27 in Miami, San Diego and Los Angeles. Univision and Galavision will each broadcast four matches live (eight total out of 19 tournament games), and Fox Sports World/Espanol will broadcast all 19 games on tape delay. The entire broadcast schedule for each outlet appears below.

GOLD CUP 2000 PAIRINGS
Group A -- Colombia, Jamaica, Honduras (at Orange Bowl in Miami)
Group B -- Haiti, Peru, USA (at Orange Bowl in Miami)
Group C -- Guatemala, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago (at Qualcomm Stad. in San Diego)
Group D -- Canada, Costa Rica, South Korea (at L.A. Coliseum in Los Angeles)

*** UNIVISION *** Feb. 13 -- Costa Rica vs. Canada (3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 12 p.m. PT -- live)
Feb. 19 -- Quarterfinals B1 vs. A2 (3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 12 p.m. PT -- live)
Feb. 20 -- Quarterfinals D1 vs. C2 (3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 12 p.m. PT -- live)
Feb. 27 -- Championship Game (3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 12 p.m. PT -- live)

*** GALAVISION *** Feb. 12 -- USA vs. Haiti (7 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. CT / 4 p.m. PT -- live)
Feb. 14 -- Jamaica vs. Honduras (7 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. CT / 4 p.m. PT -- live)
Feb. 15 -- Canada vs. South Korea (10 p.m. ET / 9 p.m. CT / 7 p.m. PT -- live)
Feb. 18 -- South Korea vs. Costa Rica (12 a.m. ET / 11 p.m. CT / 9 p.m. PT -- live)

*** FOX SPORTS WORLD (listed in order of each scheduled delay broadcast) ***

GROUP PLAY Colombia vs. Jamaica -- Feb. 15 (8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT)
USA vs. Haiti -- Feb. 15 (11 p.m. ET / 10 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. PT)
USA vs. Haiti -- Feb. 16 (2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / 11 a.m. PT)
Mexico vs. T&T -- Feb. 16 (8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT)
Costa Rica vs. Canada -- Feb. 16 (11 p.m. ET / 10 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. PT)
Jamaica vs. Honduras -- Feb. 17 (8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT)
Haiti vs. Peru -- Feb. 17 (11 p.m. ET / 10 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. PT)
T&T vs. Guatemala -- Feb. 18 (8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT)
Korea vs. Canada -- Feb. 18 (11 p.m. ET / 10 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. PT)
Peru vs. USA -- Feb. 22 (8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT)
Honduras vs. Colombia -- Feb. 22 (11 p.m. ET / 10 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. PT)
Peru vs. USA -- Feb. 23 (12 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. CT / 9 a.m. PT)
Mexico vs. Guatemala -- Feb. 23 (8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT)
Korea vs. Costa Rica -- Feb. 23 (11 p.m. ET / 10 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. PT)

QUARTERFINALS Quarterfinal A (B1 vs. A2) -- Feb. 24 (8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT)
Quarterfinal B (A1 vs. B2) -- Feb. 24 (11 p.m. ET / 10 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. PT)
Quarterfinal B (A1 vs. B2) -- Feb. 25 (12 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. CT / 9 a.m. PT)
Quarterfinal C (D1 vs. C2) -- Feb. 25 (8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT)
Quarterfinal D (C1 vs. D2) -- Feb. 25 (11 p.m. ET / 10 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. PT)

SEMIFINALS Semifinal #1 (A vs. B) -- Feb. 29 (8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT)
Semifinal #2 (C vs. D) -- Feb. 29 (11 p.m. ET / 10 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. PT)

2000 GOLD CUP CHAMPIONSHIP Fox Sports World -- March 1 (8 & 11 p.m. ET / 7 & 10 p.m. CT / 5 & 8 p.m. PT)

LIVE WEB COVERAGE OF U.S. GAMES AVAILABLE: U.S. Soccer will provide minute-by-minute updates of all of the U.S. Men's National Team games during the Gold Cup by logging on to www.us-soccer.com. Fans can also listen to every game of the Gold Cup live in English on internetsoccer.com, which has acquired the exclusive live English language coverage of the tournament.

×