US SoccerUS Soccer

2000 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Second Round Kicks Off with 16 Matches on Wednesday, June 14

CHICAGO (Monday, June 5, 2000) - The United States Soccer Federation conducted the second round draw for the 2000 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup at U.S. Soccer's headquarters in Chicago today with 32 teams from Major League Soccer, the United Soccer Leagues and the United States Amateur Soccer Association all being placed into marquee match-ups scheduled across the country on June 14. Venues and kickoff times for all 16 matches on June 14 will be announced this week.

With all 16 second round matches scheduled for June 14 across the country, the day is guaranteed to mark the busiest in U.S. Soccer's 87-year history for high-level club matches, with all 12 Division I club teams in action, not to mention nine Division II teams.

The eventual 2000 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup champion will receive $100,000 in prize money while the runner-up will receive $50,000. Fans can get up to date information on the U.S. Open Cup at, where today's draw was available live.

The 1999 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup champion Rochester Raging Rhinos (A-League) will begin their quest to defend their title on the road when they travel to take on the Pittsburgh Riverhounds (A-League). The Rhinos and Riverhounds met earlier this year on May 29, with Pittsburgh winning, 1-0.

In a marquee match-up in the East, three-time MLS champion and 1996 U.S. Open Cup winners D.C. United will have a chance to avenge a 4-3 overtime loss in last year's Open Cup third round to the Charleston Battery (A-League). The two teams will meet again at Charleston's classy Blackbaud Stadium in South Carolina. The Battery advanced all the way to the semifinals last year, finally losing to the Colorado Rapids, 3-0, on Sept. 1, 1999.

The Rapids have an early tough test in their attempt to repeat last year's final appearance. The team travels to Virginia to take on the A-League's always formidable Richmond Kickers, champions of the 1995 Open Cup. Also in the West, the number-one seed Los Angeles Galaxy will have their hands full when they host the Seattle Sounders, another consistent performer from the A-League.

The Kansas City Wizards will be looking for their first-ever win in U.S. Open Cup action when they battle either the Premier Development League's Chicago Sockers or the USASA Region II champion Milwaukee Bavarians, who play tomorrow night in Chicago in Round One action. The Wizards have never won an Open Cup match in their history, going 0-3 in tournament play and 0-1 in qualifying.

After two-months of qualifying between 154 eligible teams, 32 teams will be left standing in the tournament's second round to determine the 2000 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup champion. Prior to the draw, the clubs were separated into two geographic brackets, with 16 teams falling in the Western bracket and 16 teams in the Eastern bracket. Within each bracket, six MLS clubs and two A-League teams were also designated as seeds from one to eight. The newly formatted 2000 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup will see all 32 teams in the second round play through their brackets, similar in style to a tennis tournament and the NCAA basketball tournament.

Dating back to 1914, the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup is the oldest cup competition in U.S. States soccer and is among the oldest in the world. Open to all affiliated amateur and professional teams in the U.S., the annual U.S. Open Cup is an 87-year-old-single-elimination tournament based on similar competitions played across the world concurrent with domestic league action.

In 1999, the U.S. Open Cup was renamed the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup to honor the long-time soccer supporter and pioneer. Hunt, the owner of the Kansas City Wizards and Columbus Crew of MLS and the owner of the Dallas Tornados of the old NASL, was one of the sports first major ownership figures and is a member of the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Seeded Teams
East West
  1. D.C. United (MLS)
  2. Columbus Crew (MLS)
  3. Tampa Bay Mutiny (MLS)
  4. Miami Fusion (MLS)
  5. New England Revolution (MLS)
  6. NY/NJ MetroStars (MLS)
  7. Hampton Roads Mariners (A-League)
  8. Pittsburgh Riverhounds (A-League)
  1. Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS)
  2. Dallas Burn (MLS)
  3. Chicago Fire (MLS)
  4. Colorado Rapids (MLS)
  5. San Jose Earthquakes (MLS)
  6. Kansas City Wizards (MLS)
  7. Minnesota Thunder (A-League)
  8. San Diego Flash (A-League)

DateOpponentLocationKickoff / TVTickets
2000 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup
(First Round)
June 5Match 2: Uruguay S.C. (USASA, Reg. III; Fla.) @ Central Florida Kraze (PDL)Orlando, Fla.7:00 p.m. (ET) / ----
June 6Match 3: Milwaukee Bavarians (USASA, Reg. II; Wis.) @ Chicago Sockers (PDL)Arlington Heights, Ill.8:30 p.m. (CT) / ----
June 6Match 4: Jerry D's (USASA, Reg. I; Md.) @ Mid Michigan Bucks (PDL)Saginaw, Mich.8:30 p.m. (ET) / ----
DateOpponentLocationKickoff / TVTickets
2000 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup
(West * Second Round)
June 14Match 5: Seattle Sounders (A-League) at 1-Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 6: Riverside County Elite (D3) at 8-San Diego Flash (A-League)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 7: 4-Colorado Rapids (MLS) at Richmond Kickers (A-League)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 8: 5-San Jose Earthquakes (MLS) at Stanislaus United (D3)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 9: Texas Rattlers (D3) at 3-Chicago Fire (MLS)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 10: 6-Kansas City Wizards (MLS) at Chicago Sockers (PDL) or Milwaukee Bavarians (USASA)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 11: Tennessee Rhythm (A-League) at 2-Dallas Burn (MLS)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 12: Mexico S.C. (USASA, Reg. IV; Calif) at 7-Minnesota Thunder (A-League)TBATBA / TBATBA
DateOpponentLocationKickoff / TVTickets
2000 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup
(East * Second Round)
June 14Match 13: 1-D.C. United (MLS) at Charleston Battery (A-League)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 14: Rochester Raging Rhinos (A-League) at 8-Pittsburgh Riverhounds (A-League)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 15: New Jersey Stallions (D3) at 4-Miami Fusion (MLS)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 16: Mid Michigan (PDL) or Jerry D's (USASA) at 5-New England Revolution (MLS)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 17: Central Florida (PDL) or Uruguay (USASA) at 3-Tampa Bay Mutiny (MLS)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 18: 6-NY/NJ MetroStars (MLS) at Wilmington Hammerheads (D3)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 19: 2-Columbus Crew (MLS) at Cape Cod Crusaders (D3)TBATBA / TBATBA
June 14Match 20: Northern Virginia Royals (D3) at 7-Hampton Road Mariners (A-League)TBATBA / TBATBA


  • June 6 (First Round): Four USASA and four PDL teams face off against each other in an abbreviated first round to be completed by June 6.
  • June 14 (Second Round): An expanded second round with 32 teams competing in 16 matches across the country.
  • July 25 (Third Round): The 16 winners from the second round will continue through their brackets and will be paired against each other in eight games.
  • August 9 (Quarterfinals): The eight survivors from the third round will continue through their brackets and will be slotted against each other in four matches.
  • August 23 (Semifinals): The winners of the semifinals advance to the final.
  • October 22 (Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Final): The match date for the 2000 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Final has been tentatively set for Oct. 22 at the home of one of the two finalists.