US SoccerUS Soccer

Sarah Wagenfuhr


SARAH WAGENFUHR
National Team(s): U-20 WNT
Hometown: Colorado Springs, Colo.
Birthdate: 12/31/1986
Height: 5’3”
Club: Florida State

Sarah Wagenfuhr was a little upset when she was called up for an Under-17 Women’s National Team camp, only to realize that she was one day too old for it. But, alas, she got over the disappointment in time to become one of the U-20 women that led the team to their first-ever CONCACAF title and a fourth place finish at the 2006 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Championship in Russia. Now, if she could only get used to the disappointment of having to spend 80-degree winters in Florida instead of seeing the seasons change in Colorado Springs…

In the Spotlight

1. When did you get invited into your first camp? What was your reaction?
My first 17s camp I didn’t actually get to go because my birthday is the last day of ’86 so I was one day too old to go to the camp. I think it was my senior year.

My first reaction when I didn’t get to with the 17s, I was upset. Then I was like, ‘Well, I guess I’ll just have to make the U-19s, because that’s what it was at the time. It hadn’t changed to 20s. Then, when I got called in to the first 20s camp, I was just really excited because I had been working so long for it. It didn’t really seem real until I got there.

2. What did you learn most in your first national team camp?
Have confidence in yourself even if you’re a newcomer and just have fun because that’s the reason you play.

3. Where do you see yourself in five years?
I would love to play professional soccer, so hopefully that comes back. But, if not, I want to own my own business or have my own cooking show or do something for people with, either obese people, or people with eating disorders. I don’t know, a lot.

By own your own business, do you mean, like, a restaurant or something else?
I’ve thought about it but everyone’s like, ‘The restaurant business is really hard.’ But, I really want to have my own vineyard in California and make my own wine and stuff like that. But you have to have a lot of money to even start that so, I don’t know.

What do you study now? Wine? Agriculture?
Right now my major is undecided but it was interior design. But because of the national team stuff, I couldn’t continue in the program. I’m really interested in that; maybe owning my own interior design business.

How do you go from interior design to wanting to have a vineyard?
I don’t know. I just have a lot of interests.

4. What’s your best soccer moment?
Can I have two of them? Beating North Carolina this year to go to the Final Four. Also, just all of Mexico. And especially beating Canada when we were down a man. (Editor’s note: Mexico refers to the U.S. U-20 Women’s National Team’s run through CONCACAF qualifying for the 2006 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Championship. The U.S. beat Canada in the final to earn the team’s first regional title at that age group.)

5. Who’s your favorite U.S. National Team player and why?
I would say, men’s would probably be Eddie Pope just because he’s so consistent and he’s a really good defender.

Women’s, I would say, India Trotter just because she’s my friend at school. But, for real, Michelle Akers, just because she was so dominating and fought through a lot of adversity like her tired thing. I think she’s an amazing role model, as well, as a Christian woman.

6. What influenced your decision to attend Florida State?
The team and the coaching staff were the main reasons. I absolutely love it here.

I’m sure it’s nicer spending winters in 80 degree weather in Florida instead of minus whatever degree weather in Colorado.
Yeah, that was another major deciding things, because I knew I wanted to go away from home for college. I think it’s a good experience to be on your own. So when Florida State was interested in me and I took a visit and it was, like, 85 degrees, palm trees everywhere, green grass, I was like, ‘What could be better?’”

7. What do you miss most about Colorado Springs?
The mountains and the seasons.

Yeah, I’m sure it’s hard getting used to having nice weather all year round instead of seeing the changing seasons.

Yeah, and, I would say, the humidity from Colorado to here is really different because Colorado is really dry. Then you come out here and my hair, everyday, is a big frizzball. You walk outside and you start sweating just because it’s so wet all the time.

8. What type of music do you listen to?
My favorite is country but, down here, country is not that big. But I listen to pretty much anything and everything except hard core rock and rap. I don’t like that.

Do you have a favorite band?
Rascal Flatts.

9. What’s the one thing you can’t leave home without?
My bible and my stuffed teddy bear. I got it when I was really little, probably like three. I just remember that it was one of the best Christmas presents I ever got. My great-grandma helped me name her and my great-grandma is still alive. She doesn’t remember me but that’s okay. She’s, like, 98 or something like that. It’s just a good childhood memory. I took her everywhere.

What’s your teddy bear’s name?
Softy. She used to be really soft.

10. Favorite soccer team in the world and why?
Used to be Manchester United but now I would say Chelsea. I just like the players and Frank Lampard is really good. I like their style of play.

11. What was it like going to Veracruz for 2006 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Championship qualifying?
One of the best soccer experiences I’ve ever had, just being able to play against all different countries and seeing, of course, the incredibly different culture in Mexico. And, of course, everyone on the team was a ton of fun and we just had a lot of fun off the field. We got to go on little adventures like, we climbed a mountain and swam in a little lake-thingy.
×