US SoccerUS Soccer

Rongen Announces 18-Player Roster for Busan International Tournament

CHICAGO (Aug. 22, 2006) – U.S. Under-20 Men’s National Team head coach Thomas Rongen announced his 18-player roster for the Busan International U-20 Four Nations Tournament from Aug. 29-Sept. 2 in Busan, South Korea.

The roster is a unique mix of 11 professional and six high school players because Rongen was unable to call in the majority of players in college as they are just beginning their season. UCLA freshman goalkeeper Brian Perk was the only college player that is included on the roster.

For four players – Brandon Bumpas, Erik Hort, William Koss and Miguel Gonzalez – this will be their first-ever call-up to the U.S. Under-20 MNT.

The U.S. will travel to Busan on Friday, Aug. 25 and have three days of training before kicking off the four-team tournament on Tuesday, Aug. 29 against the host. The U.S. will then face Slovakia on Thursday, Aug. 31 before finishing round-robin play on Saturday, Sept. 2 against Argentina. All six games of the tournament will be played at Busan Asiad Main Stadium, a 2002 Wold Cup venue.

Of the 11 professional players only Preston Zimmeman, Hort and Sonny Guadarrama are playing in clubs outside of the United States. Zimmerman, a former U-17 standout, signed with Hamburg SV earlier this year and has been seeing time as a forward with the reserves. Hort, a native of Montabello, N.Y., who been with Sparta Prague since January of 2005 and has been playing as an outside back with the reserves. Guadarrama was recently signed by Santos in Mexico.

Two teams provided half of the eight players coming from Major League soccer. The N.Y. Red Bulls provided two forwards in Josmer Altidore and David Arvizu, while FC Dallas released midfielder Dax McCarty and defender Blake Wagner for the tournament.

The other MLS players are Nikolas Besagno (Real Salt Lake), Carlos Borja (Chivas USA), Gonzalez (New England Revolution) and Tim Ward (Columbus Crew), who will be involved in his first camp with the U-20s since being dropped from the 2005 FIFA World Youth Championship roster due to injury.

The high school players consist of Bryan Arguez, Corben Bone, Cameron Brown, Bumpas, Kyle Davies and Koss.

U.S. Under-20 MNT Roster - Busan International Tournament

GOALKEEPERS (2): Brandon Bumpas (Denver, Colo.), Brian Perk (UCLA)

DEFENDERS (6): Bryan Arguez (Miami, Fla.), Carlos Borja (Chivas USA), Kyle Davies (Pleasanton, Calif.), Erik Hort (Sparta Prague), Blake Wagner (FC Dallas), Tim Ward (Columbus Crew)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Nikolas Besagno (Real Salt Lake), Cameron Brown (Garland, Texas), Miguel Gonzalez (New England Revolution), Sonny Guadarrama (Santos), William Koss (Overland Park, Kan.), Dax McCarty (FC Dallas)

FORWARDS (4): Josmer Altidore (N.Y. Red Bulls), David Arvizu (N.Y. Red Bulls), Corben Bone (Plano, Texas), Preston Zimmerman (Hamburg SV)