US SoccerUS Soccer

First And Second Round Pairings For 2009 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Announced

CHICAGO (May 27, 2009) – U.S. Soccer has announced the groupings for the first two rounds of the 2009 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup which will kick off with first-round matches on Tuesday, June 9, around the country.

All 32 lower division teams will enter the tournament in the first round and have been grouped geographically into eight groups of four teams. The first-round match ups were drawn randomly within the four-team groups, although matchups between teams in the same division were avoided when possible.

The two winners from each group will face off in the second round on June 16, with the winners then advancing to the third round to face the eight qualified Major League Soccer teams. The quarterfinals will be played July 7, the semifinals will be played July 21 or 22, and the final will be played on Sept. 2.

Of the 16 amateur division teams representing the U.S. Adult Soccer Association and the Premier Development League, only two are returning for their second consecutive U.S. Open Cup, with the St. Louis Lions (PDL) and the Arizona Sahuaros (USASA) in the field for a second straight year. The Sahuaros have qualified for three of the last four U.S. Open Cups, the best record of any amateur team during that span.

Within the U.S. Open Cup framework, teams compete in one of the following four categories: professional outdoor Division I (Major League Soccer), Division II (USL First Division) or Division III (USL Second Division); or Amateur Division (USL Premier Development League & U.S. Adult Soccer Association).

Overall, 120 amateur division teams nationwide participated in qualifying for the 2009 U.S. Open Cup, with 16 teams advancing to the tournament. The 16 teams in the USL First Division and USL Second Division based in the U.S. qualified automatically. Major League Soccer’s top six teams from the 2008 standings qualified, while D.C. United and the Seattle Sounders won their respective play-in games to complete the field of 40.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which is recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 95 consecutive years dating back to 1914.

The U.S. Open Cup is a single-elimination tournament, with games tied after regulation being decided in two 15-minute overtime halves. If the score is still tied after overtime, the winner is decided in a penalty kick shootout. The team that advances the furthest from each level except Division I will earn a $10,000 cash prize. The runner-up will take home $50,000, while the champion will collect $100,000. The winner also will have the team’s name engraved on the historic Dewar Challenge Trophy, the oldest trophy in American team sports that is housed in the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta, N.Y.

2009 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Schedule
First Round

No. Date Match Time (local) Venue
1 June 9 Reading Rage (PDL) at Harrisburg City Islanders (USL2) 7:05 p.m. ET Skyline Sports Complex; Harrisburg, Pa.
2 June 9 Emigrantes Das Ilhas (USASA-Mass.) at Western Mass Pioneers (USL2) 7 p.m. ET Lusitano Stadium; Ludlow, Mass.
3 June 9 Crystal Palace Baltimore (USL2) at Ocean City Barons (PDL) 7 p.m. ET Carey Stadium; Ocean City, N.J.
4 June 9 Aegean Hawks FC (USASA-Va.) at Real Maryland FC (USL2) 6 p.m. ET Richard Montgomery H.S.; Rockville, Md.
5 June 9 Richmond Kickers (USL2) at Carolina RailHawks (USL1) 7 p.m. ET WakeMed Soccer Park; Cary, N.C.
6 June 9 Charlotte Eagles (USL2) at Wilmington Hammerheads (USL2) 7 p.m. ET Legion Stadium; Wilmington, N.C.
7 June 9 Atlanta FC (USASA-Ga.) at Charleston Battery (USL1) 7:30 p.m. ET Blackbaud Stadium; Charleston, S.C.
8 June 9 Lynch’s FC (USASA-Fla.) at Miami FC (USL1) 8 p.m. ET Tropical Park; Miami, Fla.
9 June 9 St. Louis Lions (PDL) at Cleveland City Stars (USL1) 7 p.m. ET Middlefield Cheese Stadium; Bedford, Ohio
10 June 9 Pittsburgh Riverhounds (USL2) at Rochester Rhinos (USL1) 7 p.m. ET Rochester Rhinos Stadium; Rochester, N.Y.
11 June 9 402 (USASA-Neb.) at Minnesota Thunder (USL1) 7:05 p.m. ET National Sports Center; Blaine, Minn.
12 June 9 Milwaukee Bavarians (USASA-Wis.) at Chicago Fire PDL (PDL) 5 p.m. CT Toyota Park Practice Field; Bridgeview, Ill.
13 June 9 Arizona Sahuaros (USASA-Ariz.) at El Paso Patriots (PDL) 8 p.m. MT Patriot Stadium; El Paso, Texas
14 June 9 Mississippi Brilla FC (PDL) at Austin Aztex (USL1) 7:30 p.m. CT Nelson Field; Austin, Texas
15 June 9 Portland Timbers (USL1) at Kitsap Pumas (PDL) 7 p.m. PT Bremerton Memorial H.S.; Bremerton, Wash.
16 June 9 Sonoma County Sol (USASA-Calif.) at Orange County Blue Star (PDL) 2 p.m. PT Concordia University; Irvine, Calif.

Second Round
No. Date Match Time (local) Venue
17 June 16 Winner 1 vs. Winner 2 TBD TBD
18 June 16 Winner 3 vs. Winner 4 TBD TBD
18 June 16 Winner 5 vs. Winner 6 TBD TBD
20 June 16 Winner 7 vs. Winner 8 TBD TBD
21 June 16 Winner 9 vs. Winner 10 TBD TBD
22 June 16 Winner 11 vs. Winner 12 TBD TBD
23 June 16 Winner 13 vs. Winner 14 TBD TBD
24 June 16 Winner 15 vs. Winner 16 TBD TBD

Future Dates
Date Round Notes
June 30 Third Round Round 2 winners face eight MLS teams
July 7 Quarterfinals Round 3 winners
July 21/22 Semifinals Quarterfinal winners
Sept. 2 Final Semifinal winners

2009 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Qualified Teams
Amateur – USASA
Regional Qualifiers
Amateur – Premier Development League Professional
USL Second Division
USL First Division
Major League Soccer
402 (Neb.) Chicago Fire PDL Charlotte Eagles Austin Aztex Chicago Fire
Aegean Hawks FC (Va.) El Paso Patriots Crystal Palace Baltimore Carolina RailHawks Chivas USA
Atlanta FC (Ga.) Kitsap Pumas Harrisburg City Islanders Charleston Battery Columbus Crew
Arizona Sahuaros (Ariz.) Mississippi Brilla FC Pittsburgh Riverhounds Cleveland City Stars D.C. United
Emigrantes Das Ilhas (Mass.) Ocean City Barons Real Maryland FC Miami FC Houston Dynamo
Lynch’s FC (Fla.) Orange County Blue Star Richmond Kickers Minnesota Thunder Kansas City Wizards
Milwaukee Bavarians (Wis.) Reading Rage Western Mass Pioneers Portland Timbers New England Revolution
Sonoma County Sol (Calif.) St. Louis Lions Wilmington Hammerheads Rochester Rhinos Seattle Sounders