US SoccerUS Soccer

Klinsmann Makes Four Changes to 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Roster

Matt Besler, Omar Gonzalez, Alan Gordon and Eddie Johnson to Join Team for Knockout Phase

CHICAGO (July 18, 2013) — U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann has made four changes to the 23-player 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup roster. Per tournament regulations, teams had the opportunity to make up to four changes to the roster in the 24 hours following the completion of the group phase.

Matt Besler, Omar Gonzalez, Alan Gordon and Eddie Johnson have all been added to the U.S. roster. Besler, Gordon and Johnson will report to Baltimore on Thursday in advance of the USA’s quarterfinal matchup against El Salvador on Sunday (3:30 p.m. ET on FOX, Univision). Gonzalez will join the team should the U.S. reach the semifinal.

Two changes come as the result of injury concerns. Oguchi Onyewu suffered an ankle sprain during the USA’s 4-1 win against Belize on July 13 in Sandy, Utah. Herculez Gomez continues to feel the effects of a knee issue and will head to Club Tijuana to prepare for the upcoming season.

Also departing are Houston Dynamo defender and 2013 MLS All-Star Corey Ashe, and Jack McInerney, the 20-year-old Philadelphia Union forward who made his debut in a National Team camp.

Matt Besler and Omar Gonzalez have partnered as centerbacks for the last four World Cup qualifiers, including the 0-0 draw in Mexico and the three consecutive victories against Jamaica, Panama and Honduras. With his goal in the 2-0 win against Panama in Seattle, Eddie Johnson moved into second place on the USA’s all-time scoring list in qualifying with 11 goals.

The United States finished in first place in Group C with three consecutive victories. With the 1-0 win against Costa Rica, the team extended its winning streak to eight matches, the longest in MNT history.

U.S. ROSTER BY POSITION (Gold Cup Caps/Goals)
GOALKEEPERS (3): Bill Hamid (D.C. United – 0/0), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire – 1/0), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake – 2/0)
DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla – 19/6), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake – 1/0), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City – 0/0), Edgar Castillo (Club Tijuana – 1/0), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy – 0/0)), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes – 12/2), Michael Orozco Fiscal (Puebla - 3/1), Michael Parkhurst (Augsburg – 7/0)
MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake – 8/1), Alejandro Bedoya (Helsinborg – 7/1), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana – 3/1), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg – 3/0), Stuart Holden (Bolton Wanderers – 8/3), Brek Shea (Stoke City – 3/1), Jose Torres (Tigres – 3/0)
FORWARDS (5): Will Bruin (Houston Dynamo – 0/0), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy – 31/15), Alan Gordon (San Jose Earthquakes – 0/0), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders – 3/1), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes – 6/5)