US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. Soccer National Referee Instructor and National Assessor Jim Allen Named 2004 Eddie Pearson Award Winner

Allen Recognized for Contributions to Soccer Refereeing in U.S.

CHICAGO (April 15, 2005)—U.S. Soccer National Referee Instructor Trainer and National Assessor Jim Allen was named the recipient of the 2004 Eddie Pearson Award at the 2005 National Referee Certification Seminar at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif., in February.

The Eddie Pearson award is presented each year to a referee who has distinguished himself through outstanding contributions to soccer refereeing in the United States. The award was created to honor Eddie Pearson, who worked with the Georgia State Soccer Association and dedicated much of his efforts and abilities to the development of soccer, as a coach, referee, instructor and administrator, until his untimely death in September 1978. The award was first presented the following year.

Currently, Allen serves as a U.S. Soccer Referee Instructor and Referee Assessor. He also answers questions submitted to the “Ask a Soccer Referee” section of and serves as Historian of the National Program for Referee Development.

“Jim Allen is a very deserving recipient of this award,” said Alfred Kleinaitis, U.S. Soccer’s Manager of Referee Education and the 2003 winner of the award. “It is a great opportunity to be able to honor people like Jim, as he has dedicated a substantial amount of time to referee development in the United States.”

Allen has been involved with U.S. Soccer Referees since becoming a referee in 1979, and he served as a referee until 1991. He has been an assessor and instructor since 1984, and a member of the U.S. Soccer Federation Referee Instructor Staff since 1993. As a referee instructor and instructor trainer, Allen directs the preparation of entry-level referee training courses and intermediate-level referee training courses.

In his role as a referee assessor, Allen conducts assessments of youth and adult matches, as well as professional and international games.

Allen has authored and edited several publications including the Fair Play Magazine put out by U.S. Soccer Referees. He has also published “Serious Foul Play,” “Time and the Refereree,” “Time Wasting,” “Stationary or Moving,” “Placing Restarts,” “Affecting Play,” and several other articles.

Past Eddie Pearson Award Winners
1979 – Pat Smith
1980 – Roger Schott
1981 – Ray Morgan
1982 – Don Byron
1983 – Paul Avis
1987 – John O. Best
1988 – Harry Baldwin
1989 – Robert Sumpter
1990 – Don Phillipson
1991 – Keith Walker
1992 – Robert Evans
1993 – Angelo Bratsis
1994 – Heinz Wolmerath
1995 – Thomas Webb
1996 – Jack McCabe
1997 – Richard Giebner
1998 – Michael Wuertz
1999 – Fernando Alvarez
2000 – Peter Johnson
2001 – Ed Bellion
2002 – Robert Wertz, Jr.
2003 – Alfred Kleinaitis