US SoccerUS Soccer
News

U.S. WNT Defender and WUSA Champ Brandi Chastain to Chat with Fans at ussoccerfan.com This Thursday at 6 p.m. ET


CHICAGO (Tuesday, April 23, 2002) — U.S. Women's National Team defender Brandi Chastain will chat live with fans on Thursday, April 25, at 3 p.m. PT/6 p.m. ET from San Jose, Calif., where she and her U.S. teammates are getting ready to face Finland this Saturday, April 27, at Spartan Stadium. The match will be broadcast live on ESPN2 at 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET.

Chastain, a San Jose native, did not have to get on a plane to join the national team this time, instead hopping in her car for the 10-minute drive from her house to the hotel. Chastain, who will forever be a U.S. Soccer icon after her heroics at the 1999 Women's World Cup, will be online to field questions about the upcoming match vs. Finland, the 2003 Women's World Cup, her San Jose CyberRays defense of the WUSA title and numerous other topics that might interest fans.

In a new role, but one she’s not entirely unfamiliar with, the 33-year-old veteran defender played forward in the CyberRays season opener, scoring late in the match to help the reigning champs get 2002 started where 2001 left off. Brandi started her career with the U.S. WNT as a reserve forward back in 1988, going on to score a career-high seven goals in 1991.

To log onto to the chat, go to www.ussoccerfan.com, where existing members can simply sign in and new members must register on the site before they are able to ask questions during the chat.

WHO: U.S. Women’s National Team defender Brandi Chastain

WHAT: Live online chat

WHEN: Thursday, April 25 at 3 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. ET

WHERE: U.S. Soccer’s official fan website: ussoccerfan.com

HOW: Fans can go online and visit the site a few minutes before the start of the chat to submit questions for Brandi.

×