US SoccerUS Soccer

Brian Perk to Replace Josh Lambo for U-17 '89 Japan Trip

CHICAGO (Aug. 3, 2005) - U.S. Under-17 '89 Men's National Team goalkeeper Brian Perk will replace Josh Lambo for the team's 10-day trip to Japan later this week.

The team will stay in Gifu for two days and play a match against the Gifu HS Select team on Tuesday, Aug. 9, before departing for Toyota City directly after the match to participate in the 6th Toyota International Youth Football Championship.

The U.S. is in Group B with Nagoya Grampus (and South Korea, while Group A consists of Japan, Mexico and Russia. The U.S. will face Nagoya Grampu (J-League club team) on Thursday, Aug. 11, before facing South Korea on Saturday, Aug. 13.

Depending on how they finish in Group B, the U.S. will play a placement match against the team that finishes in the same position in Group A. The championship, third-place and fifth-place matches will be played in Toyota Stadium, the home stadium for Nagoya Grampus.

As head coach John Hackworth will be working with the U-17 ‘88s as they continue their preparations for the FIFA U-17 World Championship, assistant coach Brian Maisonneuve will handle the head coaching duties for the trip. Maisonneuve is taking 18 players on the trip, a mix of players born in 1989 and 1990, seven of which are already in U.S. Soccer’s Residency Program. The other 11 players are possible additions to Residency this fall semester.

U-17 ’89/90 MNT Japan Schedule
Date          Opponent              
Aug. 9        Gifu HS Select 
Aug. 11      Nagoya Grampus  
Aug. 13      South Korea
Aug. 14      Placement Match

U-17 ’89 MNT Japan Roster by Position
GOALKEEPERS (2): Brandyn Bumpas (Denver, Colo.), Brian Perk (Santa Margarita, Calif.)

DEFENDERS (5): Greg Eckhart (Orange Park, Fla.), Anthony Wallace (St. Petersburg, Fla.), Daniel Wenzel (Federal Way, Wash.), Mykell Bates (Roseville, Calif.), Ian Kalis (Plano, Texas);

MIDFIELDERS (5): Cameron Brown (Garland, Texas), Kirk Urso (Lombard, Ill.), Edgar Barajas (San Fernando, Calif.), Jared Jeffrey (Dallas, Texas), Kyle Davies (Pleasanton, Calif.);

FORWARDS (6): Andrew Giallombardo (Manalapan, N.J.), Perica Marosevic (Rockford, Ill.), Joseph Sorrentino (Trenton, N.J.), Michael Stephens (Woodridge, Ill.), Josmer Altidore (Boca Raton, Fla.), Ellis McLoughlin (Seattle, Wash.).