US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. Under-20 WNT Opens 2008 With Camp at The HDC

CHICAGO (January 15, 2008) - The U.S. Under-20 Women’s National Team opens its Women’s World Cup year with a training camp at The Home Depot Center running from January 19-26.

U.S. head coach Jillian Ellis has called in 26 players, and may add a few more before the camp begins, as the USA begins to focus on CONCACAF Qualifying for the 2008 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, to be held Nov. 20-Dec. 7 in Chile. The country, dates and venue for qualifying have yet to be confirmed.

“We have selected and invited players that have shown the desire to represent their country in the 2008 World Cup in pursuit of one day playing for the USA at the senior level,” said Ellis. "This initial camp to start the year will feature a lot of evaluation as we are looking at players from the college ranks as well as some players that have done well with our younger teams. In these early stages, it’s important that we try to look at as many players as possible. We have several potential players for the qualifying roster that are recovering from injuries and they will get an opportunity to attend camp at a later date."

The roster is made up primarily of players in college, including three from NCAA champion USC, three from NCAA College Cup semifinalist UCLA, one from NCAA College Cup semifinalist Notre Dame and three from NCAA runners-up Florida State, but five players are still in high school. Just one of players on the roster – forward Kelley O’Hara -- represented the USA at the 2006 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Championship in Russia. O’Hara scored twice in that tournament, against DR Congo in the first round and against Germany in the 4-1 quarterfinal victory.

2008 U.S. Under-20 Women’s National Team Roster
January 19-26 -- The Home Depot Center – Carson, Calif.

GOALKEEPERS (2): Kristin Arnold (Texas A&M), Alyssa Naeher (Penn State), Kristin Olsen (USC);

DEFENDERS (6): Lauren Barnes (UCLA), Hannah Cerrone (Boston College), Lauren Fowlkes (Notre Dame), Camille Levin (Slammers FC), Meagan Morris (Montclair Aristocrats), Ella Stephan (Florida State), Lauren Wilmoth (UCLA);

MIDFIELDERS (11): Carolyn Blank (West Virginia), Amanda DaCosta (Florida State), Becky Edwards (Florida State), Danielle Foxhoven (Colorado Rush), Katy Frierson (Homewood, Ala.), Kaley Fountain (Wake Forest), Teresa Noyola (MVLA Mercury), Megan Ohai (USC), Elli Reed (Utah Avalanche Premier), Ashli Sandoval (USC), Keelin Winters (Portland), Kylie Wright (UCLA);

FORWARDS (9): Lauren Alwine (Super Nova FC ’89), Gina DiMartino, (Boston College), Michelle Enyeart (Portland), Marika Gray (Virginia Tech), Melissa Henderson (Dallas Texans), Sydney Leroux (Sereno FC), Alyssa Mautz (Texas A&M), Kelley O’Hara (Stanford), Christen Press (Stanford), Brittney Steinbruch (Miami).