US SoccerUS Soccer

Change in Venue Announced for CONCACAF Women's World Cup Qualifying in Mexico

USA’s Group B is Moved from Playa del Carmen to Cancún; Game Schedule and Kickoff Times Stay the Same

CHICAGO (Oct. 11, 2010) – CONCACAF has announced a change in venues for the 2010 CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifying tournament. The matches of the USA’s Group B were to have been played in Playa del Carmen, about 42 miles south of Cancún, but now all the Group B matches will be played at 20,000-seat Estadio Quintana Roo in Cancún, opened in August of 2007 and built for Atlante of the Mexican First Division when the club relocated from Mexico City.

The change means that all matches of the tournament, being held from Oct. 28-Nov. 8, will be played in Cancún. As previously announced, all the Group A matches, which feature host Mexico, Canada, Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana, will be played in the 9,000-seat Estadio Beto Ávila, which is the regular venue for Mexican baseball team the Quintana Roo Tigres.

The schedule of matches and the kickoff times remain the same as previously announced for both groups.

The United States will open its tournament on Oct. 28 against Haiti, face Guatemala on Oct. 30 and finish Group B play against Costa Rica on Nov. 1. All the USA’s group matches will kick off at 7:30 p.m. local time. The matches on Oct. 28 and Oct. 30 are at 8:30 p.m. ET, but as Mexico falls back to Standard Time on Oct. 31 (and the USA does not change until Nov. 7), the USA’s match on Nov. 1 against Costa Rica will kick off at 9:30 p.m. ET.

After round-robin play within the groups, the top two teams in each group will cross over for the all-important semifinals on Nov. 5 at Estadio Beto Ávila, with the first-place team in Group A facing the second place team from Group B and vice-versa. The championship game and third-place match will be played on Nov. 8 at Estadio Quintana Roo.

The eight-team competition, formerly known as the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup, will send both finalists to the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Germany while the tournament’s third-place finisher will face the fifth place team from Europe in a home-and-home series for a final World Cup berth. The 16-team 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be held in nine German cities from June 26-July 17.

So far, nine countries are set for Germany: Korea DPR, Japan and Australia from Asia, Norway, Sweden, France and England from Europe, New Zealand from Oceania and the hosts.

The United States has won all four CONCACAF Women’s World Cup qualifying tournaments in which it has competed (1991, 1994, 2002 and 2006) with all four championship games featuring a USA vs. Canada match-up. This will be only the second time the CONCACAF women's championship has been staged outside of the United States or Canada and the first since the inaugural event in Haiti in 1991.

CONCACAF Women's World Cup Qualifying
All Times U.S. Eastern

Group A:
Canada, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana
Group B: United States, Costa Rica, Haiti, Guatemala

Thursday, October 28
Cancún (Estadio Quintana Roo)
Costa Rica vs. Guatemala, 6 p.m.
United States vs. Haiti, 8:30 p.m.

Friday, October 29
Cancún (
Estadio Beto Ávila)
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Canada, 6 p.m.
Mexico vs. Guyana, 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 30
Cancún (Estadio Quintana Roo)
Haiti vs. Costa Rica, 6 p.m.
United States vs. Guatemala, 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, October 31
Cancún (
Estadio Beto Ávila)
Canada vs. Guyana, 7 p.m.
Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 9:30 p.m.

Monday, November 1
Cancún (Estadio Quintana Roo)
Guatemala vs. Haiti, 7 p.m.
United States vs. Costa Rica, 9:30 p.m.

Tuesday, November 2
Cancún (
Estadio Beto Ávila)
Guyana vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 7 p.m.
Mexico vs. Canada, 9:30 p.m.

Friday, November 5
Cancún (
Estadio Beto Ávila)
Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 7 p.m.
Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 10 p.m.

Monday, November 8
Cancún (Estadio Quintana Roo)
Semifinal losers, 6 p.m.
Semifinal winners, 9 p.m.