US SoccerUS Soccer

Contiguglia Re-Elected as U.S. Soccer President

SAN FRANCISCO (Friday, August 9, 2002) — U.S. Soccer’s membership today elected Dr. S. Robert Contiguglia to a second four-year term as President of the U.S. Soccer Federation by unanimous consent.  Contiguglia ran unopposed in the election. Contiguglia has been involved in soccer in the U.S. for more than three decades, during which he has excelled at almost every level of the game.

During his first four-year tenure, U.S. Soccer’s National Team programs were successful at every level of the sport.  In addition to winning the 1999 Women’s World Cup here in the United States, the Under-23 Men’s National Team advance to the medal round of the 2000 Olympic Games, the U-17s advanced to the final four of 1999 FIFA U-17 World Championship and, of course, the recently completed 2002 World Cup saw the U.S. Men capture the attention of a nation as they achieved their best ever results at the World Cup, advancing to the quarterfinals.

“The last four years have been remarkable,” said Dr. Contiguglia, who begins his second four-year term immediately. “We have concentrated our efforts on servicing our membership, increasing communication and solidifying the business structure of U.S. Soccer so that our entire organization could better benefit from player development and our  groundbreaking international performances on the field.  While we have made significant progress in four years, there is still much to accomplish.”

The 60-year-old Contiguglia was first introduced to the game as a player in his native New York, and later became a youth soccer coach in Colorado.  From 1990 through 1996 he served as chairman of the United States Youth Soccer Association.

In other news at today’s National Council meeting at the Hilton San Francisco, membership approval was unanimously granted to three organizations: the United States Deaf Soccer Association, the Vermont State Soccer Association and the Major Indoor Soccer League.  Also, the U.S. Soccer Foundation saw Lauren Gregg, Jim Hamilton and Brad Hays re-elected to the organization’s Board of Directors.