US SoccerUS Soccer

Sept. 28 FIFA Women's World Cup Doubleheader at Crew Stadium Sold Out

COLUMBUS, Ohio (Monday, September 22, 2003) - Columbus Crew Stadium became the first venue to sell out a session for the FIFA Women's World Cup USA 2003 as the last tickets were purchased on Monday for the doubleheader that includes the U.S. Women’s National Team on Sunday, September 28. That match will be televised live in the U.S. at 3:30 p.m. ET on ABC and TeleFutura.

Sweden will take on Nigeria at 1 p.m. that day, followed by the U.S. facing North Korea with a 3:45 p.m. kickoff.  The U.S. opened with a 3-1 victory over Sweden on Sunday, while North Korea topped Nigeria by a 3-0 margin.

Tickets are still available for all other upcoming FIFA Women’s World Cup matches via or by calling 1-800-WWC-TIKS. A complete match schedule is available online at

The quarterfinals will be played as doubleheaders on Wednesday, Oct. 1, at Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, Mass., and on Thursday, Oct. 2, at PGE Park in Portland, Ore.  Should it advance to the knockout stage, the U.S. would play its quarterfinal match in Foxboro.  PGE Park will also host the tournament semifinals on Sunday, Oct. 5.

The final and third place matches of the FIFA Women's World Cup will be played as stand-alone games on Oct. 11 and Oct. 12, respectively, at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif.

For Sunday's doubleheader at Crew Stadium, fans from 42 states, three countries, two U.S. territories and the District of Columbia have purchased tickets.  In addition to the numerous fans who will be converging on Columbus from around the United States, fans from the countries of Canada, Japan and Denmark, and the U.S. territories of Guam and Puerto Rico will also be making their way to Ohio's capital city.

FIFA Women's World Cup play in Columbus opened at Crew Stadium with Group C action last Saturday, September 20, with Germany beating Canada 4-1 and Japan routing Argentina 6-0.  Group C play will continue on Wednesday, Sept. 24, when Germany faces Japan at 5:45 p.m. and Canada takes Argentina at 8:30 p.m.