US SoccerUS Soccer

CONCACAF Announces Game Schedule for Womens World Cup Qualifying in Mexico

USA Will Open Against Haiti on Oct. 28, Face Guatemala on Oct. 30 and Finish Group B Action against Costa Rica on Nov. 1

CHICAGO (October 2, 2010) – The match schedule for the 2010 CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifying Tournament has been announced. The competition, which will send both semifinal winners to the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup, will be held from Oct. 28-Nov. 8 in Cancún and Playa del Carmen, Mexico.

The United States will open its tournament on Oct. 28 against Haiti, face Guatemala on Oct. 30 and finish Group B play against Costa Rica on Nov. 1. All the USA’s group matches will kick off at 7:30 p.m. local time. The matches on Oct. 28 and Oct. 30 are at 8:30 p.m. ET, but as Mexico falls back to Standard Time on Oct. 31 (and the USA does not change until Nov. 7), the USA’s match on Nov. 1 against Costa Rica will kick off at 9:30 p.m. ET.

All of the Group B matches will be played at the Estadio Unidad Deportiva in Playa del Carmen, which holds around 7,000 fans. The venue is home to the Inter Playa del Carmen soccer team in Mexico’s third division.

Group A, which features host Mexico, Canada, Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana, will play in the 9,000-seat Estadio Beto Ávila in Cancún, which is the regular venue for Mexican baseball team the Quintana Roo Tigres.

After round-robin play within the groups, the top two teams in each of the groups will cross over for the all-important semifinals on Nov. 5 in Cancun, with the first-place team in Group A facing the second place team from Group B and vice-versa. The championship game and third-place match will be played on Nov. 8, also in Cancun.

The eight-team competition, formerly known as the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup, will send both finalists to the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Germany while the tournament’s third-place finisher will face the fifth place team from Europe in a home-and-home and series for a final World Cup berth. The 16-team 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be held in nine German cities from June 26-July 17.

The United States has won all four CONCACAF Women’s World Cup qualifying tournaments in which it has competed (1991, 1994, 2002 and 2006) with all four championship games featuring a USA vs. Canada match-up. This will be only the second time the CONCACAF women's championship has been staged outside of the United States or Canada and first since the inaugural event in Haiti in 1991.

CONCACAF Women's World Cup Qualifying
All Times U.S. Eastern

Group A: Canada, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana
Group B: United States, Costa Rica, Haiti, Guatemala

Thursday, October 28
At Playa del Carmen
Costa Rica vs. Guatemala, 6 p.m.
United States vs. Haiti, 8:30 p.m.

Friday, October 29
At Cancun
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Canada, 6 p.m.
Mexico vs. Guyana, 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 30
At Playa del Carmen
Haiti vs. Costa Rica, 6 p.m.
United States vs. Guatemala, 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, October 31
At Cancun
Canada vs. Guyana, 7 p.m.
Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 9:30 p.m.

Monday, November 1
At Playa del Carmen
Guatemala vs. Haiti, 7 p.m.
United States vs. Costa Rica, 9:30 p.m.

Tuesday, November 2
At Cancun
Guyana vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 7 p.m.
Mexico vs. Canada, 9:30 p.m.

Friday, November 5
At Cancun
Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 7 p.m.
Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 10 p.m.

Monday, November 8
At Cancun
Semifinal losers, 6 p.m.
Semifinal winners, 9 p.m.