US SoccerUS Soccer

Clavijo Elected to Hall of Fame as Veteran Player

ONEONTA, N.Y. (June 8, 2005) – Fernando Clavijo, a 15-year veteran of the U.S. Men's National Team, the American Soccer League, the North American Soccer League and Major Indoor Soccer League has been elected to the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

“Fernando is another great addition to the Class of 2005,” Hall of Fame President/CEO Will Lunn said. “His soccer career began in the American Soccer League, and his greatest club achievements were in the MISL with many championships, but it was his service to the National Team in the 90s and in the 1994 World Cup that has earned him this distinction.”

Previously announced members in the Class of 2005 are U.S. Soccer stars and Major League Soccer pioneers Marcelo Balboa, John Harkes, Tab Ramos and Builder Hank Steinbrecher. The Colin Jose Media Award will be announced later in June. All will be honored at Induction 2005, August 28 and 29, in Oneonta, NY.
“One thinks there is the potential to be recognized for contributions to the game," said Clavijo in receiving the honor. "But when than recognition comes, it is overwhelming and totally unexpected. I have won 10 championships in my soccer career, but this is the greatest honor I have ever received as a player."

Clavijo was born in Maldonado, Uruguay, and moved to the United States in 1979 to play for the New York Apollos of the American Soccer League. He made his U.S. Men's National Team debut on Nov. 21, 1990, eventually earning 61 caps for the National Team, including three starts in the 1994 World Cup. His 15-year career spanned stints with the New York United of the ASL and the Golden Bay Earthquakes of the NASL, as well as the New York Arrows, San Diego Sockers, Los Angeles Lazers and Saint Louis Storm of the MISL. Clavijo was named an MISL All-Star 12 times and in 1984 he was also named an NASL All-Star.

Following his playing career, Clavijo turned to coaching with stints in the Continental Indoor Soccer League, the U.S. Nike Project 40 team, Nigerian National Team in 1998 World Cup, Haitian National Team in 2002 World Cup Qualifying, and the MLS New England Revolution. He is currently head coach of the Colorado Rapids of Major League Soccer.

Former Secretary General of U.S. Soccer and current President of Touchline Consultants, Inc., Hank Steinbrecher, was also honored by this year's Hall of Fame.

The candidate who receives the most votes and at least 50% of the votes cast by Hall of Famers is elected. A second Veteran may be elected if both candidates receive a minimum of 80% of the votes cast. The top 5 candidates, with 55 Veteran votes cast, were:

Top 5 Veterans
Name                                    Votes          Pct.
Fernando Clavijo                        37               67.27%
Bobby Smith                             30                54.55%
Teofilo ‘Nene’ Cubillas                28                50.91%
Al Trost                                     26                47.27%
Debbie Belkin Radamacher        24                43.64%