US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. Coaches

Starting in late March, Center Circle e-magazine will transform from the once-a-month newsletter on, becoming an interactive page that will be updated on a regular basis with new features on all the U.S. National Teams. All your favorite CC sections will still be available, such as Armchair Midfielder, In 3s and You Don’t Know Jack (Marshall) trivia, mixed in with more podcast interviews, new video segments, a chance for you to rant opinions and ask questions, and much, much more.

Our little Center Circle baby is all grown up. Come check it out.


Think you know your soccer trivia? We’ll be the judge of that. Pop quiz: who the heck is Jack Marshall? Even the trivia buffs at the National Soccer Hall of Fame would be hard-pressed to tell you that Jack Marshall received his one and only cap way back in 1926. Okay, that was pretty much impossible. They get easier.

We’ve already revealed that you don’t know Jack Marshall, but how well do you know Greg Ryan, Bruce Arena and the rest of U.S. Soccer's National Team coaches? You may know some about all of them, or all about some of them, but probably not some about some of them…er…wait…all about…ah, whatever. Test your wits with the five following questions about our national team leaders.

1. In 1991 Mia Hamm took a redshirt to play with the U.S. WNT at the World Cup, but that didn't stop her North Carolina Tar Heels from beating the Wisconsin Badgers, led by this coach, in the 1991 NCAA Championship Game.

2. This National Team head coach played soccer and lacrosse at Cornell University, earning All-American honors - in lacrosse.

3. Which is the only member of a U.S. National Team coaching staff to have an Olympic gold medal as a player?

4. Which National Team head or assistant coach has scored the most international goals?

5. National Soccer Hall of Fame Bonus Question: Name the head coaches of all the U.S. Soccer World Cup teams since 1990.

1. Greg Ryan
2. Bruce Arena
3. Milutin Soskic
4. Raul Diaz Arce, 39, El Salvador
5. HOF Bonus:
1990: Bob Gansler
1994: Bora Milutinovic
1998: Steve Sampson
2002: Bruce Arena

1991: Anson Dorrance
1995: Tony DiCicco
1999: Tony DiCicco
2003: April Heinrichs