US SoccerUS Soccer

Second Round U.S. Open Cup Possible Pairings Announced

CHICAGO (June 6, 2007) – U.S. Soccer has announced the second round possible pairings for the 2007 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup. The second round will be played on June 26, with the winners of the first round determined on June 12.

The first round features 32 teams from the United Soccer Leagues First Division, USL Second Division, Premier Development League and United States Adult Soccer Association ranks. Major League Soccer squads will join the tournament in the third round of competition.

During the first round, the match between the Western Mass Pioneers (USL-2) at Danbury United (USASA) was moved to 5:15 p.m. ET.

2007 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Schedule/Results

# Date Teams Venue; City Time
17 June 26 Winner Game 1 at Crystal Palace Baltimore (USL-2) Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium 7 p.m. ET
Winner Game 1 at Ocean City Barons (PDL) Carey Stadium; Ocean City, N.J. 7:30 p.m. ET
18 June 26 Winner Game 4 at Rochester Rhinos (USL-1) Paetec Park; Rochester, N.Y. 7:35 p.m. ET
Long Island Rough Riders (PDL) at Western Mass Pioneers (USL-2) Lusitano Stadium; Ludlow, Mass. 7:30 p.m. ET
Long Island Rough Riders (PDL) at Danbury United (USASA) Portuguese Cultural Center; Danbury, Conn. 5:15 p.m. ET
19 June 26 Winner Game 6 at Michigan Bucks (PDL) Berkley’s Hurley Field; Berkley, Mich. 7:30 p.m. ET
Winner Game 6 at Richmond Kickers (USL-2) Univ. of Richmond Stadium; Richmond, Va. 7 p.m. ET
20 June 26 Winner Game 8 at Carolina Rail Hawks (USL-1) SAS Soccer Park; Cary, N.C. 7:30 p.m. ET
RWB Adria (Chicago, Ill.) (USASA) at Milwaukee Bavarians (USASA) Bavarian Soccer Park; Glendale, Wis. 7:30 p.m. CT
Cincinnati Kings (USL-2) at RWB Adria (Chicago, Ill.) (USASA) Benedictine University; Lisle, Ill. 8:15 p.m. CT
21 June 26 Winner Game 10 at Atlanta Silverbacks (USL-1) Remax Greater Atlanta Stadium; Atlanta, Ga. 7:55 p.m. ET
Azzurri (Dallas, Texas) (USASA) at Lynch’s Irish Pub FC (Jacksonville, Fla.) (USASA) Jacksonville University; Jacksonville, Fla. 7 p.m. ET
Azzurri (Dallas, Texas) (USASA) at Charlotte Eagles (USL-2) UNCC Transamerica Field; Charlotte, N.C. 7:30 p.m. ET
22 June 26 Winner Game 12 @ Charleston Battery (USL-1) Blackbaud Stadium; Charleston, S.C. 7:30 p.m. ET
Central Florida Kraze (PDL) at Miami FC (USL-1) Orange Bowl; Miami, Fla. 8 p.m. ET
Central Florida Kraze (PDL) at El Paso Patriots (PDL) Patriots Stadium; El Paso, Texas 7:30p.m. MT

23 June 26 Winner Game 14 at Minnesota Thunder (USL-1) James Griffin Stadium; St. Paul, Minn. 7:05 p.m. CT
Winner Game 14 at El Paso Indios USA (USASA) Julias and Irene Lowenberg Eagles Stadium; El Paso, Texas 7:35 p.m. MT

24 June 26 Winner Game 16 at Seattle Sounders (USL-1) Starfire Sports Complex; Tukwila, Wash. 7 p.m. PT
Winner Game 16 at Banat Arsenal (Phoenix, Ariz.) (USASA) Reach 11 Sports Complex; Phoenix, Ariz. 7 p.m. AZ time

Geographical pairings and host proposals received from each club determined Open Cup match-ups, as they will through the quarterfinals of the tournament. Possible pairings for the third round will be announced after the completion of the first round.

At stake in the tournament is $180,000 in prize money broken down as follows: $100,000 to the champion, $50,000 to the runner up and $10,000 to the team which advances deepest in the tournament from each of the Division II, Division III and amateur levels.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, the U.S. Soccer Federation’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. It is the oldest annual team tournament in U.S. sports history and among the oldest soccer tournaments of its type in the world. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor long-time soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.

2007 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Schedule
June 12    First Round                      32 lower division teams enter tournament
June 26    Second Round                16 Round 1 winners face off
July 10      Third Round                      Round 2 winners face eight MLS teams
Aug. 7       Quarterfinals                     Round 3 winners
Sept. 4      Semifinals                        Quarterfinal winners
Oct. 2        Final                                   Semifinal winners

Composition of participating teams:
8 Major League Soccer
9 United Soccer Leagues First Division
7 United Soccer Leagues Second Division
16 Amateur (8 USL Premier Development League, 8 USASA regional qualifiers)
Total Number of Teams: 40
Total Number of Games: 39