US SoccerUS Soccer
Hank Stienbrecher

U.S. Soccer Board of Directors Confirmed at 2012 Annual General Meeting in Miami

CHICAGO (March 5, 2012) – U.S. Soccer’s Board of Directors was confirmed during the Annual General Meeting held from March 2-3 at the Hyatt Regency in Miami.

Mike Edwards and Donna Shalala were re-elected on Saturday during the National Council meeting. Edwards, who has been Executive Vice President on U.S. Soccer’s Board of Directors since 2006, defeated Juergen Sommer for another four-year term. Shalala ran unopposed as an Independent Director.

Evelyn Gill became the newest member of the Board as a Youth Council representative, while Richard Groff (Adult), Jeff Agoos (Athlete) and Jon McCullough (Athlete) were all re-elected by their respective councils.

In other news at the National Council meeting, Mary Pat Bell, Robert Black, Peter Collins, Dr. Bob Contiguglia and Marge Madriago were voted Life Members by the National Council. Membership applications for the North American Soccer League, North Dakota Soccer Association and North American Adult Soccer Association were all approved.

On Saturday night, former Secretary General of U.S. Soccer Hank Steinbrecher was presented with the 2012 Werner Fricker Builder Award. The award, which honors the late U.S. Soccer President Werner J. Fricker, is presented to an individual or individuals who have worked tirelessly in furthering the interest of the sport of soccer, without regard to personal recognition or advancement.

As the CEO/Secretary General of U.S. Soccer from 1990-2000, Steinbrecher was instrumental in bringing soccer to prominence in the United States. In his more than nine years with the Federation, Steinbrecher oversaw the staging of two of the most successful Men’s and Women’s World Cups, held in the United States in 1994 and 1999, respectively.

U.S. Soccer Board of Directors
President                                                    Sunil Gulati
Executive Vice President                               Mike Edwards
Immediate Past President (non-voting)          Dr. S. Robert Contiguglia
Athlete Representatives                                Jeff Agoos, Danielle Fotopoulos, Jon McCullough
Pro Council Representatives                          Kevin Payne, Don Garber
Adult Council Representatives                       Richard Groff, Bill Bosgraaf
Youth Council Representatives                      Evelyn Gill, John Sutter
At Large Representatives                              Burton Haimes
Independent Directors                                  Carlos Cordeiro, Fabian Nunez, Donna E. Shalala
CEO/Secretary General (non-voting)              Dan Flynn