US SoccerUS Soccer

2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Second Round Begins This Week with 15 of 16 Matches

CHICAGO (Monday, June 25, 2001) - A total of 153 teams were eligible to compete for the 2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, and, after two months of qualifying and the conclusion of the first round, only 32 teams remain to compete for this year's title as the second round begins this week.

The 16-game second round will kickoff on Tuesday (June 26), with one match-up, as Major League Soccer's Tampa Bay Mutiny travel north to face the Connecticut Wolves of the A-League at Veteran's Memorial Stadium in New Britain, Conn. at 7:05 p.m. ET.

Fourteen games will take place on "Elimination Wednesday" (June 27), as the defending champion Chicago Fire (MLS) will take part in a unique doubleheader with the host Milwaukee Rampage (A-League) at the Milwaukee County Sports Complex. The Rampage will open the twin-bill with a match-up against the D3 Pro League's Utah Blitzz at 2:30 p.m. CT, while in the nightcap, the Fire will take on the San Diego Flash (A-League) at 6 p.m. CT.

For the first time in U.S. Open Cup history, Fox Sports World and Fox Sports World Español will broadcast live a second round game on Wednesday as the Nashville Metros (A-League) visit the Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS) at Titan Stadium in Fullerton, Calif. at 7:00 p.m. PT.

Fox Sports World, which broadcast the semis and championship final last year, will add several more U.S. Open Cup matches to its television schedule in 2001, which includes one second round game and two quarterfinal match-ups, along with the semifinals and the championship match.

Also on Wednesday, last year's runner-up Miami Fusion (MLS) will co-host a second round game with the U.S. Amateur Soccer Association (USASA) representative Uruguay S.C. (of Davie, Fla.) at Lockhart Stadium in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. at 8:00 p.m. ET.

The second round concludes with an intra-league showdown between the A-League's Rochester Raging Rhinos and the Hershey Wildcats at Frontier Field in Rochester, N.Y. on July 2 at 7:35 p.m. ET.

Dating back to 1914, the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup is the oldest soccer cup competition in the United States and is among the oldest in the world. Open to all affiliated amateur and professional teams in the U.S., the annual Open Cup is an 88-year-old single-elimination tournament based on similar competitions played across the world concurrent with domestic league action.

In 1999, the U.S. Open Cup was renamed the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup to honor the long-time soccer supporter and pioneer. Hunt, the owner of the Columbus Crew and Kansas City Wizards of MLS and the owner of the Dallas Tornados of the old NASL, was one of the sports first major ownership figures and is a member of the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Schedule
Second Round Ticket Info