US SoccerUS Soccer
News

U.S. Soccer & Fox Sports World to Air Semifinal and Final of Under-19 Women's World Championship Live from Canada


CHICAGO (Wednesday, August 28, 2002) — Fox Sports World will air the U.S. Under-19 Women's National Team's semifinal match against Germany live on Thursday at 7:15 p.m. ET / 4:15 p.m. PT as the team attempts to qualify for the championship game of the inaugural FIFA Under-19 Women's World Championship being played at Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton, Canada.  Fox Sports World will also air the championship game on Sunday live at 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT featuring the winner of the U.S.-Germany semifinal and either Canada or Brazil, who will square off in the other semifinal on Thursday.

The broadcast rights to both matches were obtained by U.S. Soccer, with support from Eurosport and Fox Sports World, who cleared broadcast time on their network on short notice in order to bring the games to soccer fans across the United States. 

"To take the initiative to get these matches on TV back home is just another sign of U.S. Soccer's tremendous support for this team and the women's game,” said U-19 head coach Tracey Leone.  “Most importantly, though, it will give soccer fans in the U.S. a chance to see this wonderful team and these wonderful players that are representing them here."

The U-19 Women have been on a dynamic run throughout the tournament, compiling a perfect 4-0 record and outscoring their opposition 21-1. The U.S. attack has been spearheaded by the new generation “Triple-Edged Sword” of Lindsay Tarpley, Heather O’Reilly and Kelly Wilson, a trio of forwards who have combined for more than 60 goals in their U-19 international careers.  In this tournament alone, Wilson has scored seven, while Tarpley and O’Reilly have notched four each.

×