US SoccerUS Soccer

2010-11 Development Academy U-15/16 Honors Unveiled

Arsenal’s Mendiola Earns Second Player of the Year Award; Real Salt Lake AZ’s
Muñoz Takes Coach of the Year Honor

CHICAGO (July 7, 2011) – U.S. Soccer has announced that Raul Mendiola has earned his second Development Academy U-15/16 Player of the Year award as the Development Academy Starting XI, Coach of the Year and conference honors were unveiled just days before the U-15/16 teams kick off Finals Week on July 10 in Milwaukee, Wis.

Mendiola, who also won the Player of the Year award for the 2009-10 season, played in 32 games for Arsenal, spending time with both the U-15/16 team and the U-17/18 team. He contributed 14 goals in the highly competitive SoCal Division following up on his seven-goal campaign last season.

The U-15/16 Coach of the Year is Mike Muñoz from Real Salt Lake AZ. Muñoz took over the first-year Academy club part way through the season and led them to an automatic playoff spot by finishing second in the SoCal Division. The team’s 16-8-4 overall record led to a No. 18 seed in the Academy Playoffs, where the side earned a place at the upcoming Finals Week.

Along with Mendiola, D.C. United defender Jalen Robinson and New England Revolution midfielder Diego Fagundez are repeat selections to the All-Academy U-15/16 Starting XI. Fagundez, who was born in 1995, is still age-eligible to play one more season at the U-15/16 level.

Robinson is one of two D.C. United players on the Academy Starting XI team, joined by midfielder Collin Martin, who contributed 13 goals during the club’s run to the top of the Mid-Atlantic Division. Martin, Mendiola and Concorde Fire’s Holden Fender make up the midfield group.

Real Salt Lake AZ defender Julio Alarcon will be the only member of the All-Academy team at Finals Week after helping his team to a No. 18 seed for Playoffs. The rest of the defensive unit includes Crossfire Premier’s Jose Ocampo, another player born in 1995, and Pateadores’ Oscar Sorto. Goalkeeper Alex Bono backstopped an Empire United defense that allowed less than one goal per game en route to the top place in the Northeast Division.

Texas Rush AJ Auxerre forward Kekuta Manneh led all scorers in the Academy with 35 goals in 23 games played. Fellow forwards Fagundez and the New England Revolution’s Roberto Escudero contributed 21 and 11 goals, respectively.

The Development Academy has honored players and coaches with post-season awards since its inaugural season in 2007-08. Past Players of the Year include FIFA U-20 World Cup veteran Dillon Powers and current Major League Soccer forwards Ruben Luna (FC Dallas) and Soony Saad (Sporting Kansas City).

U-15/16 Development Academy Starting XI
GOALKEEPER: Alex Bono (Empire United)
DEFENDERS: Jose Ocampo (Crossfire Premier), Julio Alarcon (Real Salt Lake AZ), Oscar Sorto (Pateadores), Jalen Robinson (D.C. United)
MIDFIELDERS: Holden Fender (Concorde Fire), Collin Martin (D.C. United), Raul Mendiola (Arsenal FC)
FORWARDS: Diego Fagundez (New England Revolution), Kekuta Manneh (Texas Rush AJ Auxerre), Roberto Escudero (Pateadores)
Player of the Year: Raul Mendiola (Arsenal FC)
Coach of the Year: Mike Muñoz (Real Salt Lake AZ)

Central Conference Starting XI
GOALKEEPER: Jacole Turner (Sporting Kansas City)
DEFENDERS: Luis Ramirez (Texas SC Houston), John Pothast (Sockers FC), Vernon Bailey (Dallas Texans), Mo Kaba (Vardar)
MIDFIELDERS: Ricardo Perez (Colorado Rapids), Zachary Mathers (Solar Chelsea SC), Alan Arellano (Houston Dynamo)
FORWARDS: Kekuta Manneh (Texas Rush AJ Auxerre), Nick Jones (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri), Bobby Edet (FC Dallas)
Coach of the Year: Billy Thompson (Crew Soccer Academy)

East Conference Starting XI
GOALKEEPER: Alex Bono (Empire United)
DEFENDERS: Jalen Robinson (D.C. United), Tyler Turner (South Central Premier), Dylan Greenberg (Albertson SC), Billy McConnell (Players Development Academy)
MIDFIELDERS: Romilio Hernandez (Baltimore Bays Chelsea), Collin Martin (D.C. United), Mael Corboz (NJSA 04)
FORWARDS: Diego Fagundez (New England Revolution), Stefanos Stamoulacatos (Empire United), Connor Maloney (PA Classics)
Coach of the Year: Steve Klein (PA Classics)

South Conference Starting XI
GOALKEEPER: Rafael Urbina (Kendall SC)
DEFENDERS: Javier Clavijo (Weston FC), Peter Lam (McLean Youth Soccer), Anthony Ricci (Weston FC), Reed Norton (Concorde Fire)
MIDFIELDERS: Holden Fender (Concorde Fire), Dakotah Millard (South Carolina United), Eddie Millien (Weston FC)
FORWARDS: Nestor Jaramillo (South Carolina United), Ben Burdon (Charlotte Soccer Academy), Fernando Castellanos (CASL Chelsea FC Academy)
Coach of the Year: Carlos Somoano (CASL Chelsea FC Academy)

West Conference Starting XI
GOALKEEPER: Juan Cervantes (Pateadores)
DEFENDERS: Elijah Martin (Cal Odyssey), Julio Alarcon (Real Salt Lake AZ), Oscar Sorto (Pateadores), Jose Ocampo (Crossfire Premier)
MIDFIELDERS: Raul Mendiola (Arsenal FC), Juan Samayoa (Real So Cal), Slater Meehan (Santa Cruz County Breakers Academy)
FORWARDS: Roberto Escudero (Pateadores), Christian Carrillo (Chivas USA), Justin Dhillon (LA Galaxy)
Coach of the Year: Mike Muñoz (Real Salt Lake AZ)