NO CORNER FLAGS; REFEREE ERRORS LEAD TO MAJOR PROBLEMS
1. in a game played where corner flags were not available...if the ball goes out of play from an attacker's foot and travels directly over where the corner flag would have been, is it restarted with a goal kick or a throw in? Are corner flags required for a game? must they actually be a flag or can they be just a post (flag on one that was provided had torn off)?
2. keeper commits a passback violation that was not obvious to all players (or to the referee) but was to the two attacking strikers. Immediately following the keeper picking up the ball but before the referee had blown his whistle, the striker pulled the ball out of the keeper's hands (not unsportingly though), placed it on the ground, passed it backward to the other striker who taps it into the goal. The referee agreed that it was a passback violation, but took a second or two to fully process it and decide that it was an infraction. The whistle was never blown, even after the ball went into the net.
question...is the infraction enough for the foul to occur, or must the referee blow his whistle to award the foul? since the foul and misconduct situations do not require there to be a whistle, would this situation require one? is this a goal? What about less controversial ones..is the whistle the device that awards the foul or communicates it?
it goes without saying that the crew got in a lot of trouble (with the players) for allowing this to happen.
Answer (April 10, 2009):
1. Yes, corner flags and posts are required. However, if they are not available, the referee must make certain that he or she can judge where the corner is. The final decision in your question is up to the referee.
2. It's difficult to determine in which instance the referee made himself look more foolish: (a) in missing the goalkeeper picking up the deliberate pass from his teammate (?!?!?!) or (b) in allowing the striker to pull the ball from the goalkeeper's hands while the ball was still in play, at least in the eyes of the referee. Where was the assistant referee? Where was the referee? Neither one was anywhere near the field of play, right?
Fact 1: The players (through the IFAB) make the Laws of the Game, but it's the referee who enforces them, not the players.
Fact 2: The whistle is needed to stop play for a free kick or penalty kick. (See Interpretations, use of the whistle.)
'KEEPER PUNTS, GRABS BALL OUT OF AIR
the goalie has possession of the ball and punts the ball not very far about a yard away can she pick it up again while the ball is in the air...and nobody touches the ball? does it make a difference if it touches the ground?
Answer (April 10, 2009):
If the goalkeeper releases the ball from her hands and kicks it away and it hits the the ground, the ball is in play for everyone and the goalkeeper may not pick it up again until some other player has played it. We have a difficult time picturing a punt that the goalkeeper kicks only one yard yet is able to catch in the air. Seeing as this is clearly impossible, it did not happen -- at least for purposes of this particular case -- and there is no infringement of the Law.
OFFSIDE: GOAL KICKS VERSUS 'KEEPER PUNTS
Recently, one of our players was called off sides after receiving a long punt from our goalie who just made a save. In the laws of the game, it states that a player can not be off sides on a goal kick. The rules also describe a goal kick as a kick that occurs after the ball travels over the end line, last touched by attacking player. But what happens if the goalie makes a save and punts the ball? Is the goalie punting the ball the same as a goal kick regarding offsides? Any clarification on goalie punts vs. goal kicks and offsides would be greatly appreciated.
Answer (April 10, 2009):
Law 11 (Offside) tells it all -- There is no offside offense if a player receives the ball directly from a goal kick. The goal kick is a way of putting the ball back into play. The goalkeeper punt is a way for the goalkeeper to get rid of the ball within the amount of time for him or her to do so , but the ball is already in play.
Your player was probably called offside correctly when he or she received the ball from the goalkeeper punt.
OFFSIDE FROM OPPONENT'S KICK?
If a defender in full possession of the ball, passes the ball deliberately backward (ie no glancing or rebound) with the intention of passing back to the goalkeeper, and in so doing passes to an opponent from the attacking team who would, if the pass had come from an attacking team mate, have been standing in an offside position at the time of the pass from the defender, with the clear intention of interfering with play (and indeed going onto score so actually interfering with play), is the attacking player in an offside position?
In a recent Champions League game (Manchester United v FC Porto April 7th), this was demonstrated when Wayne Rooney, who was standing clearly in an offside position between the last defender and the goalkeeper in anticipation of the pass back, took possession of the ball by virtue of the pass and went onto score. He was in my opinion, not only (a) standing in an offside position when the ball was played (b) interfering with play by taking possession of the ball (c) preventing an opponent from taking possession of the ball by intercepting the ball in an offside position.
All of the Rules and interpretations I have seen phrase the consideration of an offside offence in terms of passes accurately or erroneously made by the attacking team and falling inadvertently (by rebound or deflection) or deliberately to a team mate who may or may not be in an offside position. Or they deal with an opponent defending a set piece goal kick. They do not deal with a deliberate pass by a defender to an opposition player who may be in a conventional offside position at the time the ball is played.
Could you tell me what should be the correct interpretation of this situation? Is an attacking player never offside if a defender passes directly to the attacker who would otherwise be standing in an offside position, by virtue of the defender having passed (inadvertently one assumes) to him?
Answer (April 9, 2009):
In short, yes. But perhaps we should give you more information on the matter.
A player may stand in an offside position for the entire game and never be called offside if he or she is not involved in play. And that, in turn, requires that the ball last be played by a teammate. If the ball was last possessed and played by an opponent, as in your scenario, there can be no offside.
We are concerned about possession of the ball in such cases, not in accuracy of passes. If by accuracy you mean that the opposing defender took a wild swing at the ball and it glanced off him to the player in the offside position, that would not negate the call of offside, as the opposing player never had possession of the ball.
COACH'S INSTRUCTIONS TO PLAYERS
In a recent youth league (U10) our opponents used a tactic where to prevent a quick quick after a foul the coach instructed his players to line up within the required distance and "have the referee move you" Although you have answered a similar question, my question was if the coach is deliberately instructing players in an illegal tactic should the referee address the coach or the players? Also is each player involved cautioned or a single player cautioned (In the event the referee decides to issue a caution--At this level I'm sure rule 18 may imply some instruction first before penalty). I wanted to provide some (correct) insight in my referee report (we evaluate our referees and i take my role seriously to give them correct feedback so that they can improve).
Answer (April 9, 2009):
The referee cannot act on incomplete information. Unless the referee or one of the other officials hears the coach issue such instructions and judges that act to be irresponsible behavior, it did not happen. Unless a coach is inciting to riot, we can't really penalize coaches for bad advice or bad judgment or ignorance of the Law -- only players who make the mistake of taking the coach's advice. If that is the way the coach is seeking to delay, then so be it. It either works or it doesn't. In this case, this becomes a function of the referee's knowledge of the Law, feel for the game, and competitive level of the match. No referee should hesitate to card a player for failure to retreat the required distance (FRD) -- where it made a difference -- despite the tactics of the coach, because it is the player doing it.
As to cautioning the players who are failing to withdraw the required distance from the spot of the restart, the referee should not issue cards willy-nilly, but should caution whichever player or players need the caution so that the referee can get the job done. This follows the fundamental principle of doing the LEAST necessary to accomplish the desired result. Usually, it only takes one, which is why we advise referees when faced with this sort of situation to single out ONE player by number and demand enforcement. THAT's the player who gets the card if there isn't compliance. Technically, of course, ALL players are subject to the same discipline. Whom do you single out? Doesn't matter-- though we would tend not to pick someone who had already been cautioned IF the prior caution was for something other than FRD. Now if it had been for FRD, hammer the sucker!).
SEND OFF SUBSTITUTE FOR DENYING OGSO?
during play a substitute player came onto the filed of play and disaollowed an obvious goal scoring oppurtunity in the penalty area .what should be the referee's decision.......and if that happens to be the substitute goal keeper by disallowing that goal with his hands in the penalty area.
Answer (April 8, 2009):
Yes, this can be done. According to the IFAB/FIFA Q&A 2006-07, Law 3:
13. A substitute, warming up behind his own goal, enters the field of play and prevents the ball entering the goal with his foot. What action does the referee take?
The referee stops play, cautions the substitute for unsporting behavior and the match is restarted with an indirect free kick to the opposing team where the ball was when play was stopped *.
13.1. If the player prevents the goal with his hand, what action does the referee take?
The referee stops play and sends-off the substitute for denying the opposing team a goal by deliberately handling the ball and the match is restarted with an indirect free kick to the opposing team where the ball was when play was stopped *.
The answer is also found in FIFA training materials from 2006:
Denying a Goal or a Goal-Scoring Opportunity
It is not necessary that the offense which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity be a direct free kick foul
- It could be an indirect free kick foul (dangerous play)
- It could also be misconduct
* Example: goalkeeper bends the crossbar down far enough that the ball does not go into the net
* Example: a substitute illegally enters the field and trips an attacker who has a clear shot on goal
* Example: a defender uses the shoulders of a teammate to lift himself higher to head the ball away
GOAL AFTER WHISTLE?
in a recent illinois high school game. the ball was kicked before time expired but enter the goal after time had expired. it was a 2 man ref. system. I was not the head ref. so i had look to the main for help. He counted the goal saying its like "basketball" once its kicked b4 time expires it counts.
do you happen to know the if this answer is correct? i thought as time expires, the game ends no matter where the ball is.
Answer (April 7, 2009):
We don't do high school rules here, but under the Laws of the Game, you are absolutely correct: No goal, as time had expired. Soccer is not like basketball in that regard. And high school rules are the same as the Laws of the Game with respect to when time expires.
What is USSF policy on the use of headsets in non-MLS matches? Is their use permitted by officiating crews? If so, what information should be transmitted over them, and should transmissions be encrypted?
Answer (April 7, 2009):
The headsets are considered to be part of the referee uniform and their use requires the permission of the Referee Committee. If headsets are used, the only information that should be exchanged among the officiating crew would be game-related. And unless the refereeing crew wished to share the information with the world, encryption would be appropriate.
WHEN DOES THE REFEREE BLOW THE WHISTLE?
I'm a 1st season referee. When does the referee blow the whistle?
Answer (April 5, 2009):
Good question. The answer is contained in the Interpretations section of the Laws of the Game for 2008/2009. That's in the back of the book, which you can download from the referee homepage at the Federation website, http://www.ussoccer.com .
Use of whistle
The whistle is needed to:
* start play (1st, 2nd half), after a goal
* stop play
- for a free kick or penalty kick
- if match is suspended or abandoned
- when a period of play has ended due to the expiration of time
* restart play at
- free kicks when the wall is ordered back the appropriate distance
- penalty kicks
* restart play after it has been stopped due to:
- the issue of a yellow or red card for misconduct
The whistle is NOT needed
* to stop play for:
- a goal kick, corner kick or throw-in
- a goal
* to restart play from
- a free kick, goal kick, corner kick, throw-in
A whistle which is used too frequently unnecessarily will have less impact when it is needed. When a discretionary whistle is needed to start play, the referee should clearly announce to the players that the restart may not occur until after that signal.
U.S. Soccer thanks Jim Allen (National Instructor Staff/National Assessor), assisted by Dan Heldman (National Instructor Staff), for their assistance in providing this service. Direction is provided by Alfred Kleinaitis, Manager of Referee Development and Education, with further assistance from Paul Tamberino, Director of Referee Development; David McKee, National Director of Assessment (assessment matters); and Ulrich Strom, National Instructor and National Assessor (matters in general).
Submit your questions via e-mail to email@example.com.