US SoccerUS Soccer
USSF D2 Pro League

Portland Timbers' Ryan Pore Named USSF D-2 Pro League Goal Scoring Champion in First Day of Postseason Awards

Greg Janicki Earns Defensive Player of the Year Honors,
Max Griffiin Named Rookie of the Year and Bob Lilley Voted Coach of the Year;
Best XI, MVP and Goalkeeper of the Year to Be Announced Tomorrow, Oct. 21

CHICAGO (Oct. 20, 2010) – The first four USSF Division-2 Professional League Postseason Awards were announced today. Portland Timbers midfielder Ryan Pore earning Goal Scoring Champion honors, Greg Janicki of Vancouver Whitecaps FC was named Defensive Player of the Year, Max Griffin of the Austin Aztex was awarded Rookie of the Year and Rochester Rhinos head coach Bob Lilley was voted Coach of the Year.

Awards for Best XI, Most Valuable Player and Goalkeeper of the Year will be announced tomorrow, Thursday, Oct. 21.

Pore led the league in goals scored with 15 in 29 games for the Portland Timbers. He also recorded five assists for an offense that scored 34 goals over the course of the season.

Janicki was voted Defensive Player of the Year after leading the Vancouver defense that allowed a league low 22 goals in 30 games.

Rookie of the Year Griffin was an integral part of an Aztex team that scored a league best 53 goals. The midfielder contributed 10 of those goals and set up five in his 29 appearances on the season.

Lilley led the Rochester Rhinos to a first place regular season finish with 54 points and a 16-8-6 record. The Rhinos finished the year with 38 goals for and only 24 against which was good enough for a league best plus-14 goal differential, all while keeping the league’s best disciplinary record.

The USSF D-2 Pro League Postseason Awards are selected by a panel of journalists comprised of members of print, television, radio and online media hailing from each of the 12 USSF D-2 Pro League clubs’ local markets, as well as the general manager and head coach of each team. (Note: the Goal Scoring Champion is based on statistics and was not decided by votes)

USSF D-2 Pro League Postseason Awards – Oct. 20

USSF D-2 Pro League Goal Scoring Champion: Ryan Pore (Portland Timbers)

USSF D-2 Pro League Defensive Player of the Year: Greg Janicki (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

USSF D-2 Pro League Rookie of the Year: Max Griffin (Austin Aztex)

USSF D-2 Pro League Coach of the Year: Bob Lilley (Rochester Rhinos)