US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. Women Drawn Into Group B for 2008 Peace Queen Cup in South Korea

CHICAGO (April 1, 2008) – The U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team has been drawn into Group B at the eight-team 2008 Peace Queen Cup, to be held in mid-June in Suwon, South Korea.

Exact dates, venues and kickoff times have yet to be confirmed, but the USA will be facing Italy, Brazil and Australia with the group winner advancing to the championship game where they will be play champion of Group A that features South Korea, North Korea, Canada and Argentina.

North Korea and Argentina have already qualified for the 2008 Olympic Games while the USA and Canada are currently in Mexico preparing for the 2008 CONCACAF Olympic Women’s Qualifying Tournament. Brazil will play Ghana in Beijing on April 19 for a final berth to the Olympics. South Korea, Italy and Australia did not qualify.

The tournament’s opening match will be an interesting one as South Korea faces North Korea in a doubleheader that will also feature Canada vs. Argentina.

Two stadiums in Suwon will host matches: The Suwon World Cup Stadium and the Suwon Sports Complex. One group will likely be based at each stadium.

Details of game dates, venues and times will be made available on as soon as they become available.

The USA won the inaugural Peace Queen Cup in 2006, defeating Canada, 1-0, in the championship game. The USA also tied Denmark (1-1) and defeated Australia (2-0) and the Netherlands (2-0) during the tournament.

2008 Peace Queen Cup Draw – Suwon, South Korea
Group A
A1 - South Korea
A2 - North Korea
A3 - Canada
A4 - Argentina

Group B
B1 - USA
B2 - Italy
B3 - Brazil
B4 - Australia

2008 Peace Queen Cup Tentative Match Schedule (Kickoff Times TBD)
June 15 - USA v. Italy
June 17 - USA v. Brazil
June 19 - USA v. Australia
June 21 – Championship Game (Group Winners)