US SoccerUS Soccer
Kyle Beckerman

Kyle Beckerman added to U.S. Men's National Team Roster

Real Salt Lake Captain Will Begin Training Saturday Morning

CHICAGO (June 14, 2013) – U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann has added Real Salt Lake captain Kyle Beckerman to the roster that is currently in Salt Lake in advance of the sold-out FIFA World Cup Qualifier against Honduras on June 18 at Rio Tinto Stadium.

Kickoff is set for 7 p.m. MT (9 p.m. ET), and the match will be broadcast live on ESPN, WatchESPN and UniMas. Fans can also follow on’s MatchTracker and on Twitter @ussoccer.

Beckerman has appeared 25 times for the United States, and served as team captain in the 0-0 draw against Canada on Jan. 29 in Houston. He started in central midfield in the historic 1-0 victory against Mexico on Aug. 15, 2012, the USA’s first win against its biggest rival on Mexican soil. He has been a regular member of Jurgen Klinsmann’s squad selections since the coach took over in the summer of 2011, and is the second Real Salt Lake player on the roster, joining goalkeeper Nick Rimando.


Currently in first place in the Final Round of qualifying for the 2014 FIFA World Cup with 10 points, the U.S. is riding a 22-0-2 unbeaten streak at home in World Cup Qualifying and is coming off a comprehensive 2-0 win against Panama. Overall, the United States is 3-1-1 halfway through the Hexagonal, posting three shutouts.

GOALKEEPERS (3) : Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (7) : Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Edgar Castillo (Club Tijuana), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Augsburg)
MIDFIELDERS (9) : Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Roma), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Stuart Holden (Bolton), Jermaine Jones (Schalke), Sacha Kljestan (Anderlecht), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (4) : Jozy Altidore (AZ Alkmaar), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Tottenham Hotspur), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders FC)