US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. U-17 MNT Top Funorte to Take Copa Macae Title

Macae, Brazil (July, 27) -- The U.S. U-17 Men’s National Team emerged from the Copa Macae tournament in Brazil as champions, winning the championship match against Fluminese in a penalty shootout after a scoreless regulation and overtime. Head coach Wilmer Cabrera’s team allowed only two goals over the course of six games during the tournament while scoring 14. The team is continuing summer training in preparation for the 2009 FIFA U-17 World Cup, which is slated for Nigeria from Oct. 24-Nov. 16. Quarterfinals for the tournament will take place on July 23 with semifinals on July 25 and Finals on Sunday, July 26.

U.S. U-17 MNT Copa Macae Schedule
Date Opponent Result Venue
July 18 Flamengo 2-1 W Macae, Brazil
July 19 Arsul 1-0 W Macae, Brazil
July 21 Cidade do Sol 4-0 W Macae, Brazil
July 23 Ser Caxias (Quarterfinal) 4-1 W Macae, Brazil
July 25 Fluminense (Semifinal) 3-0 W Macae, Brazil
July 26 Funorte (Final) 0-0 T (4-2 PKs) Macae, Brazil

U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team Game Report

Participants: USA U17 MNT v. Funorte Esporte Clube
Competition: XIII Copa Macaé Sub-17 - FINAL
Location: Clube Cidade do Sol – Macaé, BRAZIL
Date: July 26, 2009
Weather: 77 degrees, partly cloudy

Scoring Summary:
            1    2    F
USA    0    0    0
FUN    0    0    0

             1    2   3     4    5
USA    O    X    O   O    -
FUN    O    X    O   X    X

USA: 1-Earl Edwards; 2-Eriq Zavaleta, 3-Tyler Polak, 4-Perry Kitchen, 6-Zach Herold; 5-Marlon Duran, 8-Alex Shinsky (19-Nick Palodichuk, 66), 10-Luis Gil, 11-Carlos Martinez (13-Dominick Sarle, 68); 9-Jack McInerney, 15-Victor Chavez (7-Juan Agudelo, 63)
Subs Not Used: 12-Andrew Craven, 14-Sean Davis, 16-Boyd Okwuonu, 17-Riley Wolfe, 18-Spencer Richey, 20-Michael Ambrose
Head Coach: Wilmer Cabrera

FUN: 1-Victor Silva; 3-Ricardo Pereira, 4-Altamiro Flávio, 6-Iago De Mello, 17-Willington De Souza; 2-Edson Da Silva, 7-Marcos Barbosa (16-Marcos De Barros, 58), 8-Roger Dias, 10-Matheus Machado; 9-Fayllon Barbosa (5-Pedro Moreira, 74), 11-Hiago Theodoro (18-Edmar Batista, 65);
Subs Not Used: 12-Keegan, 13-Rafael Vieira, 14-Mikhail, 15-Athos Silva, 19-Michael
Head Coach: Hilio Jackson Borges