US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. Men's National Team 2006 FIFA World Cup Television Schedule Finalized

U.S. MNT Games to Air Live on ABC, ESPN & ESPN2 Beginning with
USA-Czech Republic on June 12 on ESPN2;
Schedule Highlighted by USA-Italy Showdown on Saturday, June 17 on ABC

CHICAGO (March 18, 2006) – The U.S Men’s National Team will kick off their 2006 FIFA World Cup campaign live at 11:55 a.m. ET on ESPN2 on Monday, June 12, 2006, against the Czech Republic. ABC, ESPN and ESPN2 will broadcast all 64 games of the 2006 FIFA World Cup live in Germany from June 9 through July 9, 2006.

ABC Sports will broadcast 12 tournament games, including the USA’s match-up against Italy at 2:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, June 17, as well as the championship match at 1:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, July 9, at Berlin’s Olympiastadion. The Saturday afternoon USA-Italy match-up is poised to be one of the tournament’s major highlights.

ESPN will televise 31 matches, including the USA’s final group match against Ghana at 9:55 a.m. ET on Thursday, June 22, while ESPN2 will air 21 matches, including the U.S. squad’s opening match and the tournament’s opening match between host Germany and Costa Rica at 11:55 a.m. ET on Friday, June 9.

All of the tournament matches will be simulcast in high definition for the first time ever on ABC HD, ESPN HD and ESPN2 HD.

During the World Cup, ESPN and ESPN2 will present World Cup Live – a daily highlight and analysis show of all the tournament action. ESPN and ESPN2 will air 32 episodes of World Cup Live between 12 a.m. and 2 a.m. ET (9-11 p.m. PT) as part of ESPN’s “Trifecta” block of programming. Shows will include news updates as well as reviews and previews of World Cup action from Germany. ESPN2 will also air 12 live editions of the show between games on select days between June 9-19. 

2006 FIFA World Cup Groups
Germany, Costa Rica, Poland, Ecuador
GROUP B: England, Paraguay, Trinidad & Tobago, Sweden
GROUP C: Argentina, Ivory Coast, Serbia & Montenegro, Netherlands
GROUP D: Mexico, Iran, Angola, Portugal
GROUP E: Italy, Ghana, United States, Czech Republic
GROUP F: Brazil, Croatia, Australia, Japan
GROUP G: France, Switzerland, South Korea, Togo
GROUP H: Spain, Ukraine, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia is the official site of U.S. Soccer, the governing body of soccer in the United States.