US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. U-18 MNT Fights to Scoreless Draw with Germany at Lisbon International

LISBON, Portugal (May 28, 2009) -- The U.S. Under-18 Men's National Team battled to a 0-0 draw against Germany at the Lisbon International Tournament in Portugal. In a tight battle, both teams hit the post late in the game, but neither was able to break through as Zachary MacMath held onto a shutout for the U.S. and Bjorn Bussmann was equal to the task for Germany.

: U-18 United States Men's National Team vs. Germany
Date: May 28, 2009
Competition: U-18 Lisbon International Tournament
Venue: Estadio 1 De Maio - Inatel; Lisbon, Portugal
Kickoff: 4:00 PM (11:00 AM ET)
Attendance: n/a
Weather: 88 degrees / Sunny and Hot

Scoring Summary:   1   2    F
USA                              0    0    0
GER                             0    0    0

USA: 24-Zachary MacMath; 12-Kofi Sarkodie, 2-Gale Agbossoumonde, 15- Zarek Valentin, 3-Paolo Del Piccolo; 13-Jose Altamirano, 16-Nicholas Millington (4-Chad Barson, ’72), 17-Amobi Okugo, 7-Gregory Garza (14-Miles Byass ’62), 11-Dion Acoff (8-Dillon Powers, ’45 (10-Hasani Sinclair, ’80)); 6-Ryan Finley (9-Will Bates, ’45)
Subs not used: 1-Justin Luthy
Head Coach: Michael Matkovich

GER: 1-Bjorn Bussmann; 2-Thorsten Tonnies, 4-Sebastian Sonnenberger, 3-Sebastian Hertner; 7-Pascal Gross, 10-Lennart Hartmann (13-Nicklas Horber, ’77), 5-Sebastian Neumann, 6-Manuel Gulde (17-Felix Kroos, ‘58), 8-Soren Bertram; 15-Alessandro Riedle (18-Cenk Tosun, ’22), 16-Marco Terrazzino
Subs not used: 9-Christian Clemens, 11-Kevin Breuer, 12-Marcel Lentz, 14-Shervin Radjabali Fardi
Head Coach: Frank Engel

Stats Summary: USA / GER
Shots: 9 / 9
Shots on Goal: 6 / 3
Saves: 2 / 6
Corner Kicks: 6 / 6
Fouls: 6 / 8
Offside: 2 / 0

Misconduct Summary:
GER – Sebastian Hertner (caution)     47th minute
GER – Manuel Gulde (caution)             56
USA – Will Bates (caution)                     78
USA – Chad Barson (caution)

Referee: Toni Pohjoismaki (FIN)
Assistant Referee 1: Hernani Fernandes (POR)
Assistant Referee 2: Jose Lima (POR)
Fourth Official: Jose Fontelas Gomes (POR)