US SoccerUS Soccer
morgan wambach

U.S. Soccer and FOX Soccer to Provide Coverage of the FIFA Balon d’Or 2012

U.S. WNT Forwards Abby Wambach and Alex Morgan Finalists for 2012 FIFA Women’s Player of the Year; Former U.S. WNT Head Coach Pia Sundhage Up for 2012 Women’s Coach of the Year

CHICAGO (Jan. 7, 2013) – U.S. Soccer and FOX Soccer will provide coverage of the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2012 gala today from Zurich, Switzerland. Fans can watch the awards presentation live on FOX Soccer starting at 12:30 p.m. ET and also follow on Twitter @ussoccer and @ussoccer_wnt. The gala will also be streamed live on

U.S. forwards Abby Wambach and Alex Morgan are finalists for the 2012 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year, while former U.S. WNT head coach Pia Sundhage, who led the USA to the 2012 Olympic gold medal, is a finalist for the 2012 World Coach of the Year for Women’s Soccer.

U.S. Soccer’s Studio 90 video crew is on site in Zurich to cover the FIFA awards show, providing a preview video with interviews with Wambach and Morgan, and capturing all the reaction following the award presentation.

Wambach, Morgan and Sundhage made the final three in the respective categories through voting by the captains and head coaches of almost all the women’s national teams throughout the world as well as by international media representatives.

The finalists for the Men’s World Player of the Year are Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid and Portugal, Lionel Messi of Barcelona and Argentina and Andrés Iniesta of Barcelona and Spain. The finalists for the Coach of the Year for men’s soccer are Spain head coach Vicente Del Bosque, former Barcelona head coach Pep Guardiola and Real Madrid head coach Jose Mourinho.

The other awards that will also be given out during the gala include: the FIFA World XI, the FIFA Puskás Award for the most beautiful goal of the year, the FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award.