US SoccerUS Soccer
Development Academy

Colorado Rapids U-15/16s, Albertson SC U-17/18s Earn Third Place in Academy Finals Week

HOUSTON (July 20, 2013) – Albertson SC’s U-17/18 team finished third in its age group with a 4-2 victory against De Anza Force at the 2012-13 Development Academy Finals Week third-place match at the Houston Amateur Sports Park.

Jeongho Ahn tallied a brace for Albertson, scoring a go-ahead goal in the 55th minute and an insurance tally in the 60th minute. Ryan Egan and Eric Orologio were the other goal scorers for Albertson.

For De Anza, Nicholas Lima and Thomas Powell tied the score at 2-2 after 45 minutes.

In the U-15/16 division, the Colorado Rapids scored two early goals and shut out Albertson’s younger team 2-0 in the other third-place match. Quinn Liebmann gave the Rapids a 1-0 lead in the seventh minute and Remington Ellis notched a goal in the 26th minute for Colorado.

Fifth-Place Game: De Anza Force 1, Houston Dynamo 1 (De Anza Force wins on PKs): Matthew Dorsey gave the hometown Houston Dynamo a 1-0 lead with a 25th minute strike that the Dynamo took into the half. Aravind Sivakumar tied it up for De Anza in the 50th minute, where the score stood through regulation. In penalties, De Anza prevailed to finish fifth in the tournament.

Seventh-Place Game: Texans SC Houston 1, Crew Soccer Academy Wolves 1 (Texans SC Houston wins on PKs)

Fifth-Place Game: St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri 1, Vancouver Whitecaps FC 0: St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri posted its second straight win to close out the tournament to earn fifth place. After a scoreless first half, Zachary Kavanaugh found the back of the net for SLSG Missouri and kept Vancouver off of the score sheet.

Seventh-Place Game: New England Revolution 3, Seattle Sounders 1:
The New England Revolution finished the tournament on a high note as Peguy Ngatcha tallied a first-half brace with goals in the 24th and 35th minutes. Mawolo Gissie had the game’s first goal in the fifth minute. Sounders forward and Development Academy Player of the Year Jordan Morris tallied the lone goal for Seattle in the 75th minute.