US SoccerUS Soccer

Kempin Replaces Cropper for Torneo de las Americas

CHICAGO (Nov. 19, 2010) -- Sporting Kansas City goalkeeper Jonathan Kempin will replace Cody Cropper on the U.S. U-20 Men's National Team when it travels to Kennesaw, Ga., to participate in the Torneo de las Americas. Cropper was unable to travel to the event due to commitments with his club, Ipswich Town.

Kempin, a 17-year-old from Leawood, Kansas, signed a Homegrown Player contract with Sporting Kansas City (formerly the Kansas City Wizards) in August and splits time between the club's first team and the U-17/18 Development Academy squad. He has spent time with the U.S. U-18 Men's National Team in 2009 and 2010, but this will be his first training camp with Thomas Rongen's Under-20 side.

At the Torneo de las Americas, the U.S. team will play Colombia on Nov. 26 and Mexico on Nov. 28. Both games at the Kennesaw State Soccer Stadium kick off at 3:30 p.m. ET. After the second round of the NCAA College Cup to be played this weekend, Rongen will add two players from the college ranks to his roster.

Tickets to the event start at $14 per game and are on sale to the public Thursday, Oct. 28 at Noon EST through and at the KSU Soccer Stadium ticket box office (on day of game). Tickets are also available at CV Futbol locations in Norcross (770-453-1405), Marietta (678-354-5535) and Rome (706-295-2818) in addition to H Mart locations in Duluth (678-543-4000), Riverdale (678-435-0909), John’s Creek (678-317-0240), Suwanee (770-932-9511) and Doraville (770-986-2300). Groups of 20 or more receive a special discount by calling 678-298-4780.

Roster By Position:
GOALKEEPERS (2): Eduardo Fernandez (Real Salt Lake AZ; Casa Grande, Ariz.), Jonathan Kempin (Sporting Kansas City; Leawood, Kans.)
DEFENDERS (5): Gale Agbossoumonde (G.D. Estoril Praia; Syracuse, N.Y.), Bryan De La Fuente (Chivas USA; Bell, Calif.), Greg Garza (G.D. Estoril Praia; Grapevine, Texas), Korey Veeder (Crystal Palace Baltimore; St. Petersburg, Fla.), Parker Walsh (Karlsruher SC; Roanoke, Va.)
MIDFIELDERS (7): Sebastian Lletget (West Ham United; San Francisco, Calif.), Alex Molano (NK Dinamo Zagreb; Grapevine, Texas), Amobi Okugo (Philadelphia Union; Sacramento, Calif.), Moises Orozco (Tigres; Oxnard, Calif.), Conor Shanosky (D.C. United, Sterling, Va.), Alex Zahavi (Maccabi Haifa F.C.; Los Angeles, Calif.), Cesar Zamora (Chivas USA; Sylmar, Calif.)
FORWARDS (4): Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls; Barnegat, N.Y.), Tristan Bowen (Los Angeles Galaxy; Van Nuys, Calif.), Fuad Ibrahim (Toronto FC; Richfield, Minn.), Omar Salgado (Unattached; El Paso, Texas)