US SoccerUS Soccer

Brian Hall Named to 72-Man Referee Crew for the 2002 World Cup Korea/Japan

CHICAGO (Monday, January 7, 2002) - U.S. Soccer Referee Brian Hall of Gilroy, California, has been appointed by FIFA as one of 36 referees (along with 36 referee assistants) that will officiate at the 2002 FIFA World Cup in Korea/Japan from May 31 to June 30, 2002. The announcement was made this morning during the FIFA Referee's Committee meetings in Zurich, Switzerland.

Hall, who will also officiate at the upcoming Football Confederation (CONCACAF) Gold Cup in January, is one of five referees from CONCACAF appointed to the 2002 World Cup, as well as four referee assistants for a total of nine representatives from the region.

The appointment of Hall, who has been a FIFA official since 1992, extends an impressive streak for U.S. officials - the United States has been represented by an official at six consecutive World Cup tournaments (David Socha - Spain 1982 & Mexico 1986; Vincent Mauro - Italy 1990; Arturo Angeles - USA 1994; Esse Baharmast - France 1998).  Hall will also celebrate his 41st birthday during the tournament on June 5.

"These referees and assistant referees play a role of the utmost importance," commented FIFA General Secretary Michel Zen-Ruffinen, who himself can look back on several years' experience as an international referee. "Not only must they ensure that the laws of the game are enforced consequently, but they must also demonstrate excellent interpersonal skills, coupled with tact and intuition, so that the teams can fulfil their potential and entertain those watching."

Before taking their places at the FIFA World Cup finals between, the referees and assistant referees will rigorously prepare for the competition. Central to these preparations will be the seminar in the Korean capital, Seoul, on March 20-23, 2002, where directives relating to the excessive use of force during play and the outlawed tackle from behind will be covered in detail.

The chosen officials will also be sent a comprehensive, coordinated fitness program to follow in the build-up to the World Cup, making sure that they are at the peak of fitness for the finals. At the Seoul seminar, as well as undergoing a medical examination, they must pass the official FIFA fitness test.

FIFA 2002 World Cup Korea/Japan Officials

Asia (AFC)
Ali Bujsaim, U.A.E.
Toru Kamikawa, Japan
Young Joo Kim, Korea Republic
Jun Lu, China
Saad Kamel Mane, Kuwait

Africa (CAF)
Coffi Codjia, Benin
Mourad Daami, Tunisia
Ndoye Falla, Senegal
Gamal Ghandour, Egypt
Mohamed Guezzaz, Morocco

Carlos Batres, Guatemala
Brian Hall, USA
William Vega, Costa Rica
Peter Prendergast, Jamaica
Felipe Ramos Rizo, Mexico

Oceania (OFC)
Mark Shield, Australia

Ubaldo Aquino, Paraguay
Jorge Larrionda, Uruguay
Byron Moreno, Ecuador
Oscar Ruiz, Colombia
Angel Sanchez, Argentina
Carlos Simon, Brazil

Europe (UEFA)
Pierluigi Collina, Italy
Hugh Dallas, Scotland
Anders Frisk, Sweden
Terje Hauge, Norway
Antonio Lopez, Spain
Lubos Michel, Slovakia
Markus Merk, Germany
Urs Meier, Switzerland
Victor Pereira, Portugal
Kim Nielsen, Denmark
Graham Poll, England
Kyros Vassaras, Greece
Gilles Veissiere, France
Jan Wegereef, Holland

Referee Assistants
Asia (AFC)
Ali Al-Traifi, Saudi Arabia
Mat Awang, Malaysia
Haidar Koleit, Lebanon
Visva Krishnan, Singapore
Awni Hassouneh, Jordan
Mohamed Saeed, Maldives
K. Sankar, Indonesia

Africa (CAF)
Taoufik Adjengui, Tunisia
Dramane Dante, Mali
Wagih Farag, Egypt
Brighton Mudzamiri, Zimbabwe
Ali Tomusange, Uganda

Curtis Charles, Antigua
Vladimir Fernandez, El Salvador
Michael Ragoonath, Trinidad
Hector Vergara, Canada

Oceania (OFC)
Elise Doriri, Vanuatu
Paul Smith, New Zealand

Bomer Fierro, Ecuador
Miguel Giacomuzzi, Paraguay
Jorge Oliveira, Brazil
Jorge Rattalino, Argentina

Europe (UEFA)
Evzen Amler, Czech Republic
Frederic Arnualt, France
Egon Bereuter, Austria
Yury Dupanau, Belarus
Carlos Ferreira, Portugal
Jens Larsen, Denmark
Leif Lindberg, Sweden
Heiner Muller, Germany
Philip Sharp, England
Jaap Pool, Holland
Igor Sramka, Slovakia
Ferenc Szekely, Hungary
Roland Van Nylen, Belgium
Maciej Wierzbowsky, Poland