US SoccerUS Soccer

Presale For VISA Cardholders For U.S.-Mexico in Columbus, Ohio, Begins Tomorrow at Noon ET

CHICAGO (Jan. 26, 2009) — A special, one-day ticket presale for Visa® cardholders for the United States against Mexico FIFA World Cup qualifier in Columbus, Ohio, begins tomorrow (Tuesday, Jan. 27) at 12 p.m. ET online at The presale ends on Wednesday, Jan. 28 at 8 a.m. ET before tickets go on sale to the general public at 12 p.m. ET later on Wednesday.

The game marks the third-consecutive time that Columbus Crew Stadium hosts the final round home leg between the United States and Mexico. The match in Columbus is the first of five home qualifiers for the United States this year.

Tickets range in price levels from $48 to $250. During the Visa presale, tickets will be limited to four per purchase.

Visa will be the only payment method accepted through the Visa presale and is the preferred card of U.S. Soccer. Terms and conditions apply.

Tickets go on sale to the general public on Wednesday, Jan. 28, at 12 p.m. ET through, by phone at 1-800-745-3000 and at all Ticketmaster ticket centers throughout central Ohio (including Kroger), as well as the Crew Stadium ticket office (open Monday-Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.). Tickets will be limited to four per purchase.

Ultimate Fan Tickets, special VIP packages which include a premium ticket, a custom made official U.S. national team jersey with name and number, VIP access to the field before and after the game, and other unique benefits, are also available exclusively through while supplies last.

The match will be the sixth World Cup qualifier hosted by the nine-year-old venue. The U.S. has a 3-0-2 record in qualifying and an unbeaten 4-0-3 all-time record in the stadium. In the first meeting on Feb. 28, 2001 – dubbed the “Guerra Fria (‘Cold War’)” because the game-time temperature topped out at 29 degrees – goals by Josh Wolff and Earnie Stewart paced the U.S. to a 2-0 victory. Four years later on Sept. 3, 2005, goals by Steve Ralston and DaMarcus Beasley earned the United States another 2-0 win and officially booked their place in the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany.

The U.S., along with Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, and Trinidad & Tobago, is competing in the 10-game round-robin format through Oct. 14, 2009, with the top three teams automatically advancing to the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. The fourth-place team will compete in a two-game playoff to be held Nov. 14/18 against the fifth-place finisher in South American qualifying.