US SoccerUS Soccer

Referee Clinics To Be Held in Conjunction With Professional Games


CHICAGO (Thursday, July 3, 2003) - U.S. Soccer Referees working professional league matches, state referee organizations and top professional teams are cooperating again this year to provide opportunities for referees to come together to discuss game situations and referee mechanics on the field, either before or after the match. Participants have the opportunity to watch an exciting game in the company of fellow referees and ask questions of the referees assigned to that match.

More than a dozen Division 1 and 2 teams have offered special "Referee Days" with discounted ticket prices and facility space for clinic presentations. The clinic presentations are primarily "Question & Answer" sessions. Referees will field your questions about game incidents from recent games or situations you may have encountered on the field yourself. This is your chance to get help from the experts.

Recent special referee programs have been held in San Jose, New York, Charleston and Chicago. Check the list below for other upcoming events:

 

DateGameTicket InformationTelephone
July 19, 2003San Jose Earthquakes
@ D.C. United
Dan Giffin
<dgiffin@mlsnet.com>
703-397-5479
July 22, 2003Rochester Raging Rhinos
@ Richmond Kickers
Shelly Sowers
<ikicker@richmondkickers.com>
804-644-5425
July 23, 2003New England Revolution
@ Columbus Crew
Neil Johnson
<njohnson@mlsnet.com>
614-447-4155
July 30, 2003San Jose Cyber Rays
@ Carolina Courage
Nicholas Harmelin
<Nicholas.Harmelin@sjearthquakes.com>
408-260-6336
August 2, 2003Indiana Blast
@ Minnesota Thunder
Kristen Lettiere
<Kristin@Mnthunder.com>
763-785-3668
August 3, 2003Montreal Impact
@ Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Christine Heasley
<cheasley@riverhounds.com>
412-381-4625
August 8, 2003San Jose Earthquakes
@ Kansas City Wizards
Julio Bambini
<bambinij-s@juno.com>
816-356-0296
August 9, 2003Metrostars
@ Chicago Fire
David Quinn
<dquinn@mlsnet.com>
312-705-7237
September 6, 2003New England Revolution
@ San Jose Earthquakes
Nicholas Harmelin
<Nicholas.Harmelin@sjearthquakes.com>
408-260-6336

×