US SoccerUS Soccer

FSC To Broadcast 2006 CONCACAF Women's Gold Cup, 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup


CHICAGO (November 16, 2006) – Fox Soccer Channel announced today that it has acquired the exclusive English-language television rights in the United States to the 2006 CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup and the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The third edition of the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup will take place from November 19-26 in Miami and at The Home Depot Center in Carson, California, and will feature teams from six countries: Canada, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago and two-time defending champions USA.

As part of the agreement, Fox Soccer Channel will offer live coverage of both 2006 CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup semifinal matches on Wednesday, November 22, as well as of the match between the third and fourth place finishers and the final on Sunday, November 26. The winner and runner-up will automatically qualify for the 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup in China while the third-place finisher will face Asian Football Confederation representative Japan in a home-and-away playoff for the final berth to the 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Fox Soccer Channel will also provide live English language coverage of the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup, the CONCACAF championship of men’s national teams, including all three early round U.S. Men’s National Team matches, plus one quarterfinal, one semifinal and the final.

The tournament takes place from June 6-24 at venues around the U.S. and will feature 12 CONCACAF teams vying for the coveted Gold Cup crown. The winner of the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup will qualify directly to the FIFA Confederations Cup South Africa 2009 as the CONCACAF representative. A detailed schedule of matches on Fox Soccer Channel will be announced at a later date.

2006 CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup broadcast schedule on Fox Soccer Channel
Date Match-Up Kickoff Local / ET
Wed., Nov. 22
Canada vs. Panama or Jamaica
USA vs. Mexico or Trinidad & Tobago
4:30 p.m. PT / 7:30 p.m. ET
7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET
Sun., Nov. 26
Third Place Match
Final
3 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. ET
5:30 p.m. PT / 8:30 p.m. ET

×