US SoccerUS Soccer
Paralympics CPISRA championships2011 USAvIRL.jpg

U.S. Paralypic Soccer Team to Meet in Chula Vista, Calif., for Training Camp From March 25-April 1

CHICAGO (March 16, 2012) – The U.S. Paralympic Soccer Team will convene in Chula Vista, Calif., from March 25-April 1 for the team’s last domestic training camp in preparation for two consecutive international tournaments.

The U.S. will travel to Ukraine to compete in the Ukraine International Tournament from April 29-May 10. The team will also participate in the four-team BT Paralympic World Cup in Manchester, England, from May 23-26.

Head coach Jay Hoffman selected 16 players for the camp, including midfielder Josh McKinney, who leads the team with 96 caps and 75 career goals, including five in the 2011 CPISRA World Championships. The roster also includes a second goalscorer from last year’s tournament, Marthell Vazquez.

Paralympic soccer is played seven-a-side on a smaller field and with smaller goals than non-disabled soccer. Each team plays with seven men using the International Federation of Associated Football (FIFA) rules, which have been slightly modified to accommodate the disabilities of the athletes.

To be eligible for Paralympic soccer, athletes must be ambulatory and have a diagnosis of non-progressive brain damage that is associated with motor control dysfunction such as Cerebral Palsy, traumatic brain injury or stroke. More information about eligibility and the classification of athletes is available at the CPISRA website.

Roster by Position
Goalkeepers (1): Keith Johnson (Houston, Texas)
Defenders (4): Chris Ahrens (Baldwinsville, N.Y.), Bryce Boarman (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Sean Matsey (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Gavin Sibayan (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Midfielders (7): Nick Creasey (Richmond, Va.), Tommy Latsch (Euclid, Ohio), Josh McKinney (Cary, N.C.), Moises Morales (San Diego, Calif.), John Stanz (Hamburg, N.Y.),  Marthell Vazquez (Long Beach, Calif.), Jerreme Wade (Chesapeake, Va.)
Forwards (4): Dylan Brown (Clovis, Calif.), Alex Hendricks (Columbus, Ohio), Charlie Howard (Washington, D.C.), Jackson McCabe (Boulder, Colo.)