US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. U-23 WNT Kicks Off Year in San Diego

CHICAGO (Dec. 29, 2008) - The U.S. Under-23 Women’s National Team, under the guidance of head coach Bill Irwin, kicks off its 2009 campaign with a training camp from Jan. 5-12 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif. Irwin will bring 25 players to the OTC as he begins preparation for the 2009 Nordic Cup, the top competition for this age group, which will be held in July.

The U.S. has won the last two Nordic Cups, including the 2008 tournament in Sweden when the team did not allow a goal. The U.S. has had great success at the Nordic Cup facing Europe’s top teams for this age group, winning 10 of the last 12 tournaments.

The roster includes 11 members of the 2008 Nordic Cup champions, including forward Ella Masar, a draftee of the Chicago Red Stars of the WPS, who scored twice in the 3-0 championship game win over Germany last summer. Two other players in camp have already been taken by a WPS club in Danesha Adams (Chicago Red Stars) and Amanda Cinalli (St. Louis Athletica), but several more may go in the January draft.

The roster includes three players from 2008 NCAA Champion North Carolina, including 2008 Olympic gold medalist Tobin Heath and midfielder Casey Nogueira, who scored both goals for the Tar Heels in the NCAA title game.

Ten players on the roster have played for the U.S. in a FIFA youth world championship and four have caps with the full Women’s National Team in Heath (17), Yael Averbuch (2), Adams (1) and Nogueira (1). The youngest player is 18-year-old Katy Frierson, who completed her freshman season at Auburn last fall. Players born on or after Jan. 1, 1986, are eligible for this year’s U-23 WNT.

U.S. U-23 Women’s National Team Training Camp Roster
Olympic Training Center – Chula Vista, Calif.
Jan. 5-12, 2009

GOALKEEPERS (3): Kelsey Davis (Portland), Val Henderson (UCLA), Mallori Lofton (South Florida);
DEFENDERS (6): Marissa Abegg (Stanford), Nikki Krzysik (Virginia), Stephanie Logterman (Texas), Kasey Moore (Texas), Brittany Taylor (Connecticut), Jessica Tsao (Portland);
MIDFIELDERS (9): Ameera Abdullah (Florida), Yael Averbuch (North Carolina), Parrissa Eyorokon (Purdue), Katy Frierson (Auburn), Tobin Heath (North Carolina), Brittany Klein (Santa Clara), Casey Noguiera (North Carolina), Lorraine Quinn (Duke), Kat Reynolds (Santa Clara);
FORWARDS (7): Danesha Adams (Chicago Red Stars), Brittany Bock (Notre Dame), Amanda Cinalli (St. Louis Athletica), Katie Larkin (BYU), Ella Masar (Chicago Red Stars), Kia McNeill (Boston College), Kelley O’Hara (Stanford).