US SoccerUS Soccer

U.S. MNT To Face Mexico Tomorrow at 7:30 p.m. CT

U.S. Men's National Team Training Camp Update
April 27, 2004
Dallas, Texas

ONE TO GO: The U.S. will hold its final training session this afternoon at the Cotton Bowl in Dallas, just over 24 hours before the 49th meeting between the USA and Mexico on April 28 in Dallas.  Kickoff for the match is set for 7:30 p.m. CT, and the match will be broadcast live on Telemundo, Fox Sports World, and HDNet.  Fans can also follow the match live on's MatchTracker, presented by Philips Electronics.  The U.S. team has reported healthy and fit, while the Mexican team is expected to arrive into Dallas later this evening.


  • Six players on the U.S. roster (Conor Casey, Kevin Hartman, Rich Kotschau, Pat Noonan, Taylor Twellman, Jonny Walker) have never played against Mexico at the senior level.  Wizards midfielder Kerry Zavagnin, who has four caps, made his international debut against Mexico in the 2-0 win on Oct. 25, 2000, in Los Angeles.
  • Another U.S. player launched his senior career that day, forward Landon Donovan marking his international debut with his first international goal, becoming the sixth player since 1985 to achieve that accomplishment.
  • Recent MNT debutante Conor Casey has been in fine form for his club in Germany, his 13 goals for Karlsruhe good for fourth place on the Second Bundesliga’s scoring charts.  Casey earned his first cap as a starter in the USA’s 1-0 against Poland last month.
  • Jovan Kirovski gets the nod as the highest capwinner in the squad, the 28-year old collecting 60 caps for the USA since 1994.  MetroStars captain Eddie Pope sits one behind with 59 appearances, while Frankie Hejduk rounds out the top three at 55.
  • Six players from the 2002 World Cup roster will be in uniform tomorrow night, including four players who appeared in the 2-0 win against Mexico in the Round of 16.  The WC veterans: DaMarcus Beasley, Landon Donovan, Frankie Hejduk, Pablo Mastroeni, Eddie Pope, Josh Wolff.
  • Four players on the roster (Chris Armas, Frankie Hejduk, Jovan Kirovski, Eddie Pope) were on the field the last time the U.S lost to Mexico, a 2-1 loss on March 13, 1999 in Los Angeles.
  • The April 28 match marks the men’s national team’s return to the Cotton Bowl after a nine-year absence, with the U.S. collecting a 2-2 draw against Uruguay in their last appearance on March 25, 1995. The Americans hold an undefeated lifetime 4-0-2 record at the home of the Dallas Burn.
  • Both the U.S. and Mexico have qualified for the last three World Cups, the USA’s trip the quarterfinals the best performance by either team.

TODAY’S FRIENDS, TOMORROW'S ENEMIES: After Wednesday night’s encounter, the players will quickly change uniforms in advance of the full slate of matches scheduled for MLS Soccer Saturday.  Landon Donovan and Richard Mulrooney will lead the San Jose Earthquakes against Bobby Convey and visiting D.C. United (ESPN2, 4 p.m. ET), while No. 1 and No. 2 in the Eastern Conference clash when the MetroStars Eddie Pope and Jonny Walker take their 2-0-1 record to Soldier Field to face Fire captain Chris Armas and DaMarcus Beasley.  The league-leading Los Angeles Galaxy make the cross-country trip to New England, Kevin Hartman and Jovan Kirovski squaring off against the Revs Pat Noonan and Taylor Twellman, and the Colorado Rapids defensive duo of Rich Kotschau and Pablo Mastroeni look to shutdown Josh Wolff and Kerry Zavagnin when they travel to Kansas City.

10-28-10 (since 1934)
U.S. Goals: 52

Mexico Goals: 109
  • Eight of the 10 U.S. wins vs. Mexico have been shutouts, including five of the last six meetings.
  • The U.S. has an 8-6-8 record vs. Mexico at home, dating back to 1957
  • U.S Manager Bruce Arena has a 5-3-1 record vs. Mexico, and is 4-1-1 in home games.  Under Arena, the U.S. has outscored Mexico 11-4.


On the field for USA
March 31, 2004 – Kazimierza Gorskiego, Plock, Poland - Friendly
Poland         0
USA            1    DaMarcus Beasley 26
Att: 10,500

USA  — 1-Brad Friedel; 13-Greg Vanney, 3-Gregg Berhalter, 25-Pablo Mastroeni (4-Carlos Bocanegra, 52), 6-Steve Cherundolo; 22-Chris Klein (5-Tony Sanneh, 74), 10-Claudio Reyna (capt.), 17-DaMarcus Beasley, 9-Clint Mathis (8-Kerry Zavagnin, 85); 16-Josh Wolff (15-Bobby Convey, 46), 11-Conor Casey.

POL — 1-Jerzy Dudek; 2-Tomasz Klos, 3-Tomasz Rzasa, 4-Marcin Baszczynski (17-Tomasz Hajto, 46), 5-Arkadiusz Radomski (15-Miraslaw Szymkowiak, 46); 6-Jacek Bak (capt.), 7-Euzebiusz Smolarek (16-Damian Gorawski, 62), 8-Jacek Krzynowek, 9-Grzegorz Rasiak (18-Marek Saganowski, 46); 10-Mariusz Lewandowski (14-Sebastian Mila, 72), 11-Maciej Zurawski.

On the field for  Mexico
March 31, 2004 – Home Depot Center, Carson, Calif.- Friendly
Mexico             2    Rafael Garcia 12, Diego Martinez 42
Costa Rica       0  
Att: 27,000

MEX: 1-Oswaldo Sanchez (Capt.); 18-Salvador Carmona, Duilio Davino, 4-Rafael Marquez; 16-Mario Perez, 6-Gerardo Torrado (2-Diego Martinez 9’), 7-Pavel Pardo, 8-Rafael Garcia (15-Jesus Mendoza 61’), 21-Hector Altamirano (3-Omar Briceno 61’); 11-Daniel Osorno (10-Zepeda 61’), 9-Jared Borgetti (19-Israel Lopez 73’).

CRC: 18-Adrian de Lemos (1-Alexander Jara 46’); 5-Gilberto Martinez, 19-Mauricio Wright, 3-Luis Marin (Capt.) (20-Pablo Chinchilla 46’), 16-Trey Bennett (17-Steven Bryce 55’); 10-Walter Centeno, 8-Mauricio Solis (6-Douglas Sequeira 61’), 15-Junior Diaz, 11-Ronald Gomez, 7-Jewison Bennett (21-Alvaro Saborio 46’), 9-Froylan Ledesma (14-Alonso Solis 67’)

Vs. Mexico
May 8, 2003 – Reliant Stadium, Houston, Texas – Friendly
USA           0
Mexico       0  
Att: 69,582

USA  — 18-Tim Howard; 4-Carlos Bocanegra, 23-Eddie Pope, 6-Dan Califf; 25-Pablo Mastroeni (15-Bobby Convey, 66), 14-Chris Armas, 7-DaMarcus Beasley, 2-Frankie Hejduk (17-Chris Klein, 75), 11-Clint Mathis (8-Earnie Stewart, 46); 20-Brian McBride (capt.; 13-Cobi Jones, 79), 10-Landon Donovan.

MEX — 1-Oswaldo Sanchez; 18-Salvador Carmona (capt.), 5-Duilio Davino, 3-Omar Briseno; 6-Luis Perez (17-Israel Lopez, 66), 4-Hector Altamirano, 21-Jesus Arellano (19-Irving Rubirosa, 75), 14-Octavio Valdez (7-Carlos Morales,66), 15-Juan Pablo Rodriguez; 9-Adolfo Bautista (20-Fernando Arce, 82), 11-Omar Bravo (10-Alberto Medina, 59).