US SoccerUS Soccer
Michael Orozco

Michael Orozco Added to U.S. MNT Roster for FIFA World Cup Qualifiers against Jamaica and Panama

Replaces Injured Omar Gonzalez; Liga MX Defender to Join Camp Tuesday in Kansas City

CHICAGO (Oct. 8, 2013) — U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann has added defender Michael Orozco to the training camp roster. Orozco will join camp Tuesday afternoon in Kansas City.

He replaces LA Galaxy defender Omar Gonzalez, who was forced to withdraw after being diagnosed with a left hip strain. Gonzalez left at halftime of the LA Galaxy's 5-0 win against Chivas USA last Sunday, and was evaluated in Los Angeles.

Orozco has played five times for the National Team in 2013, including four appearances in the USA’s run to the CONCACAF Gold Cup title. Overall, he has now reached 10 caps with the U.S. MNT.

The U.S. closes out the Hexagonal with a home match against Jamaica on Oct. 11 in Kansas City, Kan., before completing the campaign on the road against Panama on Oct. 15 in Panama City.

Kickoff at sold-out Sporting Park is set for 5:30 p.m. CT, and the match will be broadcast live on ESPN, WatchESPN, UniMas and ESPN Deportes Radio. Four days later, the U.S. closes out the final round of World Cup Qualifying when it faces Panama at Estadio Rommel Fernandez (8:30 p.m. CT, beIN SPORT). Fans can follow both matches live on’s MatchTracker and on Twitter @ussoccer.

Currently ranked 13th in the world, the United States holds a one point lead over Costa Rica at the top of the group and has the chance to finish in first place in CONCACAF qualifying for the third consecutive cycle.

The U.S. will hold a public training session Oct. 9 at Sporting Park. The event is free and open to the public.

In front of a raucous, capacity crowd of 24,584 on Sept.10 at Columbus Crew Stadium, the U.S. Men’s National Team defeated Mexico 2-0 to earn its berth at the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil. With the win, the MNT set a record for victories in a calendar year with 14, improving to 14-3-2 in 2013 and topping the previous record of 13 wins set in 2005 and 2009.