US SoccerUS Soccer
Maurice Edu

Edu and Ashe Withdraw from MNT Camp

Shea Heads to Dallas to Receive Individual Treatment on Strained Calf

CHICAGO (May 27, 2013) – The U.S. Men’s National Team will be without Corey Ashe and Maurice Edu after each was forced to withdraw through injury. No replacements will be added to the U.S. roster.

Ashe suffered a groin strain in the Houston Dynamo's 1-1 tie with Sporting Kansas City on Sunday. He had been called in for the match against the game against Belgium on May 29 at FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland (TICKETS).

Edu has been diagnosed with a sports hernia. Following the completion of his loan at Bursaspor, he returned to Stoke City where the team medical staff made the diagnosis.
Shea continues to be bothered by a right calf strain incurred at Stoke City. He will go to Dallas for individual treatment, and when he is fit for full training he will be available to return to the U.S. camp. No timetable has been set.

The team has a pair of friendlies against Belgium and Germany before continuing FIFA World Cup Qualifying against Jamaica, Panama and Honduras in June. They have a 23-game unbeaten streak at home in World Cup Qualifying, and currently sit third in the table with four points, just one point behind leaders Panama.

The U.S. Men's National Team will host a public training session Tuesday, May 28, at 5 p.m. ET at FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland. Admission to the event is free, and parking is available for $3 in the West 3rd lot.

Fans who pre-register on
will be entered to have a chance to meet U.S. head coach Jurgen Klinsmann at the stadium prior to the training session.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire),
DEFENDERS (6): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Michael Parkhurst (Augsburg)
MIDFIELDERS (6): Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Stuart Holden (Bolton), Jermaine Jones (Schalke), Sacha Kljestan (Anderlecht), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (5): Jozy Altidore (AZ Alkmaar), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Tottenham Hotspur), Herculez Gomez (Santos), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders FC)