US SoccerUS Soccer

Connecticut Wolves Advance to Open Cup Third Round with 3-2 Win Over Tampa Bay Mutiny

NEW BRITAIN, Conn. (Tuesday, June 26, 2001) - The Tampa Bay Mutiny (MLS) fell to the A-League's Connecticut Wolves, 3-2, at Veterans Memorial Stadium in New Britain, Connecticut in front 4,362 fans in the first match of the 2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Second Round. The Wolves advance to the third round where they await the winner of tomorrow night's match between the Richmond Kickers (A-League) and the Reading Rage of the D3 Pro League. With the loss the Mutiny are now eliminated from the 2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup. The last time the Mutiny had been eliminated in the second round was 1996.

The Wolves opened the scoring in the 50th minute with a goal by Mobi Oparaku on a freekick by Temoc Suarez. The kick was a taken from the left side and was crossed to the far post. Oparaku's header was deflected by Tampa Bay goalkeeper Matt Nyman but found the back of the net. Tampa Bay tied the match at 1-1 with a 55th minute goal by Nike Project-40 forward Devin Barclay. Barclay's chip from about eight yards out beat a sprawled out Adam Throop. Mamadou Diallo was credited with the assist on the goal.

Connecticut took back the lead in the 58th with a goal by Winston Griffiths. After a turnover in the Mutiny third by Kevin Anderson, Griffiths made a run at Nyman and beat the Mutiny 'keeper to his left. The Wolves added a goal by Irasto Knight in the 86th minute to stretch their lead to 3-1. Griffiths was credited with the assist on Knight's goal.

The Mutiny was able to cut the lead to one goal with an 89th minute goal by Mamadou Diallo. Throop got a hand on the free kick from 22 yards out, but the ball trickled past the Connecticut goalkeeper to give Diallo his first and only goal of the 2001 U.S. Open Cup.

TB - Scott Garlick (Matt Nyman, 46); Kevin Anderson (Gus Kartes, 74), Craig Demmin, Steve Trittschuh, Ritchie Kotschau; Josh Keller (Carlos Valderrama, 46), Jair, Steve Ralston, Eric Quill; Devin Barclay, Mamadou Diallo.

CONN - Adam Throop, Tony Soto, Jake Dancy, Adam Eyre, Dean Sewell, Dave Vaudreuil, Temoc Suarez, Winston Griffiths, Mobi Oparaku, Paul Oyuga, Fabio Zuniga (Irasto Knight, 66).